My Sweet Piccadilly

My Sweet Piccadilly

By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?


This is a haunting and startling book of 100 poems on the dark side of London, the human psyche and fear- all rolled into one. But- its no ordinary poetry. It delves into the deep Piccadillies of the mind and gently, but uneasily treads through murder, ghosts, lies, hauntings, treachery, suicide, euthanasia, sleepwalking, hallucinations, hypnotism, sorcery, greed, deceit, envy, pride, racism, secrets...always fearful, occasionally heart tugging- and always casting a spell. It is stories on Londoners with a twist and the collection includes poems on the Queen, Margaret Thatcher, Jack The Ripper, the Brontes. Read about fairies in Hampstead Heath, a UFO in Wimbledon Common, a cry for help from the River Thames, suicides in Richmond Park, terrorist attacks at Baker Street Station, a haunted Victorian house in North London, a unlikely match in the Olympic Park, the dark secrets of the Houses of Parliament, an underground club in Mayfair that celebrates racism, a politicians rape, thoughts from St Pauls Cathedral - and much more. Why should poetry not have the twists and turns that a novel has? Why should poetry only be about the trees, flowers and unrequited love?. Not My Sweet Piccadilly. The book takes poetry to a whole new league. This is Book 1 in the Trilogy. Book 2 is called My Sweet Victoria. One of the poems in this volume becomes a full fledged story in My Sweet Victoria. Have fun guessing which one it is. Read on- and be delighted. Enjoy the candy this book has to offer- but be forewarned- My Sweet Piccadilly has a tang to it. Gupta departs from the saccharine fabric usually associated with poems and has completely reinvented poetry as a genre with the sharp, tingling enjoyment that can only be found in hard back novels. The book's biggest strength is its clever readibility- it grips you, and as you read one poem after another the book soon becomes unputdownable. Destined to become a more

Product details

  • Paperback | 208 pages
  • 127 x 203.2 x 11.94mm | 290.3g
  • Createspace Independent Publishing Platform
  • United States
  • English
  • black & white illustrations
  • 1508658943
  • 9781508658948

About MR Avik Gupta

Avik was born and brought up in London and has lived in both the UK and India. He is a Chartered Accountant by profession but an Artist by heart. My Sweet Piccadilly is Book 1 in a trilogy series which combines every day life with uneasiness, fear and a sense of the uncanny. Book 2 in the trilogy is a full length novel called My Sweet Victoria, currently in progress. Avik is married and has two bonny sons and lives in Hillingdon, on the outskirts of more