My Sister's Bones

My Sister's Bones : 'Rivals The Girl on the Train as a compulsive read' Guardian

3.92 (3,843 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

List price: US$16.66

Currently unavailable

We can notify you when this item is back in stock

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks

Description

'RIVALS THE GIRL ON THE TRAIN AS A COMPULSIVE READ' The Guardian

The compelling thriller about the secrets even those closest to us keep, which readers are calling 'SHOCKING' 'RIVETING' and 'HAUNTING'.

If you can't trust your sister, then who can you trust?

Kate Rafter has spent her life running from her past. But when her mother dies, she's forced to return to Herne Bay - a place her sister Sally never left.

But something isn't right in the old family home. On her first night Kate is woken by terrifying screams. And then she sees a shadowy figure in the garden...

Who is crying for help?
What does it have to do with Kate's past?
And why does no one - not even her sister - believe her?


'For lovers of The Girl on the Train ...a tense story with multiple twists and turns' Prima

'***** Wow...creeps slowly up your spine, grips you round the throat and doesn't let you go! ' Amazon reviewer

'A gripping rollercoaster ride of a thriller' Christobel Kent, author of The Loving Husband

'Compelling ... Brimful of tension, twists and darkness, this one grabbed me on the first page and didn't let go' Woman and Home

'Twists and turns until the last page' Tammy Cohen

'A stunning book. Compelling, unsettling and powerful this is a book that will stay with me for a long time.' C. L. Taylor

'Nuala Ellwood has created a tale that is gripping, engrossing and surprising at every turn. I loved it' Rowan Coleman

'An accomplished and page-turning thriller. It twists and turns in so many directions it's impossible to guess where it's going next' Nicholas Searle, author of The Good Liar

'Loved I Let You Go and Behind Closed Doors? My Sister's Bones is guaranteed to be this year's most twisty and twisted read - you'll never see what's coming!' Ava Marsh, author of Untouchable

'Ellwood's protagonist Kate is a female hero in the best sense, flawed but brave' Helen Callaghan, author of Dear Amy

'My Sister's Bones is a tense, atmospheric, deliciously dark story' Amanda Jennings, author of In Her Wake

'A twisty psychological thriller. I raced through it in one sitting!' Lucy Atkins, author of The Other Child

'This book is amazing - harrowing and compelling' Luana Lewis
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 400 pages
  • 161 x 241 x 35mm | 640g
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 0241977274
  • 9780241977279
  • 498,388

Review quote

Gripping and beautifully written, My Sister's Bones is a tense, atmospheric, deliciously dark story -- Amanda Jennings Full of really clever twists, this stylish thriller really grabs you * Sunday Mirror * Compelling ... Brimful of tension, twists and darkness, this one grabbed me on the first page and didn't let go * Woman and Home * 'For lovers of The Girl on the Train ...a tense story with multiple twists and turns' * Prima * 'Compelling and convincing' * Guardian * Well-written ... an elegant, punchy thriller with a dark heart * Observer Thriller of the Month * Memorable, jaw-dropping ... harrowing fiction that skilfully draws parallels between the effects of civil war and domestic violence * Sunday Times * A dark, intense, multi-layered thriller that twists and turns until the last page -- Tammy Cohen A twisty psychological thriller. I raced through it in one sitting! -- Lucy Atkins, author of The Other Child Ellwood's protagonist Kate is a female hero in the best sense, flawed but brave. Very quickly you are sucked into her fragile, damaged world, until you no longer know what is real or imaginary -- Helen Callaghan, author of DEAR AMY A gripping rollercoaster ride of a thriller. Keeps you in there right to the last page -- Christobel Kent, author of The Loving Husband A stunning book. I was drawn in by Nuala Ellwood's hypnotic, haunting and elegant prose. Compelling, unsettling and powerful this is a book that will stay with me for a long time' * C. L. Taylor * An accomplished and page-turning thriller...it's impossible to guess where it's going next -- Nicholas Searle 'Compelling and intriguing, right from the very first page' -- Sharon Bolton 'RIVALS THE GIRL ON THE TRAIN (and beats it for style)' (The Guardian)
The 'shocking' 'haunting' and 'riveting' thriller about the secrets even those closest to us keep, this book will keep you turning the pages late into the night. For fans of Clare Mackintosh, C L Taylor and Erin Kelly. * Penguin Books *
show more

About Nuala Ellwood

Nuala Ellwood was chosen as one of the Observer's 'New Faces of Fiction 2017' for her first thriller, the bestselling My Sister's Bones. Nuala teaches Creative Writing at York St John University, and lives in the city with her young son.
show more

Rating details

3,843 ratings
3.92 out of 5 stars
5 31% (1,202)
4 39% (1,484)
3 23% (887)
2 6% (222)
1 1% (48)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X