My Plain Jane

My Plain Jane

3.77 (18,456 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author)  , By (author)  , By (author) 
3.77 (18,456 ratings by Goodreads)
Free delivery worldwide Expected delivery to the United States in 9-12 business days.

Not ordering to the United States? Click here.
Order now for expected delivery to the United States by Christmas Order now for expected delivery to the United States by Christmas

Description

Move over, Charlotte Brontë. The authors of the New York Times bestselling My Lady Jane are back with an irreverent spin on Jane Eyre--a tale of mischief, romance, and supernatural mayhem perfect for fans of The Princess Bride or A Gentleman's Guide to Vice and Virtue.

You may think you know the story. Penniless orphan Jane Eyre begins a new life as a governess at Thornfield Hall, where she meets one dark, brooding Mr. Rochester--and, Reader, she marries him. Or does she?

Prepare for an adventure of Gothic proportions, in which all is not as it seems, a certain gentleman is hiding more than skeletons in his closets, and one orphan Jane Eyre, aspiring author Charlotte Bronte, and supernatural investigator Alexander Blackwood are about to be drawn together on the most epic ghost hunt this side of Wuthering Heights.
show more

Product details

  • 12-15
  • Hardback | 464 pages
  • 145 x 216 x 36mm | 499g
  • English
  • 006265277X
  • 9780062652775
  • 67,548

Back cover copy

A fantastic, romantic, comedic, entirely faithful retelling of JANE EYRE

You may think you know the story. After a miserable childhood, penniless orphan Jane Eyre becomes a governess at Thornfield Hall. There, she meets one dark, brooding Mr. Rochester. Despite their significant age gap and his uneven temper, they fall in love--and, Reader, she marries him.

We have a different story to tell.

JANE best friends with a ghost
has endured years of hardship and misery, and is ready to embark on a new life as a governess at Thornfield Hall. She's rather poor. She's rather plain. Also, she has terrible taste in men.

CHARLOTTE just try to tell her no
is an aspiring novelist. (Yes, she's that Charlotte.) And she's determined to capture her friend Jane's story even if it means worming her way into the most epic ghost hunt this side of Wuthering Heights.

ALEXANDER ghost hunter extraordinaire
is an agent of the Society for the Relocation of Wayward Spirits. He's about to discover something very disturbing going on at a little place called Thornfield . . .

READER, there will be murder. Mayhem. Conspiracy. And, of course, romance. Prepare for an adventure of Gothic proportions, in which all is not as it seems, and a certain gentleman, Mr. Rochester, is hiding more than skeletons in his closets.
show more

Review quote

★ "Holds all the flavor of a juicy period novel yet with the addition of numerous, witty asides. Full of wry humor and laugh-out-loud commentary. The authors' affection for their source material is abundantly clear in this clever, romantic farce." -- Publishers Weekly (starred review)

★ "A delightfully deadpan deconstruction of a Gothic novel, with a ghost almost no one can see providing the commentary. Marvelously self-aware and almost too clever for its own good." -- Booklist (starred review)

★ "A madcap story of ghosts, possession, revenge, and murder. Humorously blends fact with fiction and offers a gentler, more hopeful outcome for Charlotte, her siblings, and her heroine." -- School Library Journal (starred review)

"Reader, it delighted. A fun, supernatural mashup of different literary novels that shines on its own merit." -- Kirkus Reviews

PRAISE FOR MY LADY JANE: ★ "Wacky, irreverent, and just plain fun. This fantasy-adventure politely tips its hat to history before joyfully punting it out of the way. An utter delight." -- Booklist (starred review)

★ "An uproarious historical fantasy that's not to be missed." -- Publishers Weekly (starred review)

"Gleefully anachronistic comedy." -- Kirkus Reviews

"Three cheers for this well-written and rollicking revision of history full of timely mannerisms and bold adventure. Those who enjoy clever humor, colorful fantasy, and light romance will savor each page." -- Voice of Youth Advocates (VOYA)

"The Tudors meets Monty Python. Prepare to laugh and gasp and clutch your pearls." -- Tahereh Mafi, New York Times bestselling author of the Shatter Me series

"History, humor, and unexpected magic come together in this marvelous story." -- Jessica Day George, author of Silver in the Blood

"Adventure, intrigue, humor, and romance abound. A great choice for those who enjoy lighthearted, alternative history adventures." -- School Library Journal
show more

Rating details

18,456 ratings
3.77 out of 5 stars
5 23% (4,280)
4 40% (7,423)
3 28% (5,213)
2 7% (1,271)
1 1% (269)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X