My Pear-Shaped Life

My Pear-Shaped Life

3.88 (951 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Expected delivery to the United States in 10-15 business days.


Not ordering to the United States? Click here.

Description

'This book has given me life' Trish Hannon, reader review

This is a joyful, uplifting book to remind us how strong we are...no matter how pear-shaped life gets!



'Original, funny, moving and brutally honest...perfect for fans of Ruth Jones' Debbie Johnson


'This upbeat romance will leave you smiling' Daily Mirror
'So many women will find this book speaks to them. It makes you laugh and cry but it is truly inspiring' Katie Fforde


'Sweet, sad, insightful and joyful - this book pressed all the emotion buttons and I'm so glad it did' Milly Johnson


'Uplifting and powerful...I LOVED it' Cathy Kelly


'Warm, moving and life-affirming...Greta is a gorgeous character that you will fall in love with' Sinead Moriarty


'Be more Greta' Woman's Way


Meet Greta.

She's funny.




She's flawed.




She's hiding so much behind her big smile she's forgotten who she is.




But Greta is about to discover that the key to being happy is...being yourself.



Greta Gale has played the part of the funny fat one her entire life, hiding her insecurities behind a big smile. But size doesn't matter when you can laugh at yourself, right?
Until Greta realises she's the only one not laughing. And deep down, she's not sure if she'll ever laugh again.


But Greta is about to discover that sometimes the best moments in life come when it's all gone a bit pear-shaped...


Everyone loves Greta:
'Poignant and profound, warm and witty, Carmel's brilliant writing invites us to look beyond the smiley face to the complex tangle of emotions inside us all. I absolutely adored it'
Sunday Times bestseller Cathy Bramley


'Warm, engrossing storytelling at its best'
Irish Times bestseller Sheila O'Flanagan


'I bloody loved it. Funnny, heart-wrenching and uplifting all in one'
Beth Reekles, author The Kissing Booth
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 384 pages
  • 135 x 204 x 35mm | 430g
  • HarperCollins Publishers Ltd
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 0008389365
  • 9780008389369
  • 362,613

Review quote

'There's something about Greta we can all relate to, and her story has, perhaps, never been more relevant or important. This is a novel full of heart, wisdom, and courage, and you're in for a real treat!'
New York Times bestseller Hazel Gaynor


'Greta is Everywoman, laugh, love and cry with her. I truly couldn't stop reading. A beautiful, tender and joyful story.' Sunday Times bestseller Susan Lewis


'Funny, warm, heartbreaking - and so real and honest, it made me squirm in recognition at times. You've never met a heroine quite like Greta Gale and you are going to LOVE her'
USA Todaybestseller Catherine Ryan Howard


'Move over Bridget Jones, step aside Little Miss Sunshine because Greta Gale has landed! Greta is as real as women come'
Caroline Grace-Cassidy


Carmel Harrington is a natural storyteller ... with heart, humour & hope. RTE


Heartwarming humour, with tears, laughter & friendship. Immensely enjoyable.
IRISH TIMES


Will make you see life in a different way. WOMAN'S WAY


Convincing characters, always gripping, endearing, with a cracking pace.
IRISH INDEPENDENT


Heartwarming & Heartbreaking. EVENING HERALD


A nuanced read, but at its heart, warm. SUNDAY INDEPENDENT


A popular voice in Irish publishing, often compared to the beloved Maeve Binchy, Harrington focuses her books on relationships, with a strong emotional overlay.
LIBRARY JOURNAL REVIEW


Her books are like a hug, they envelop you ... clever, finely honed, they make you think & make you grateful. IRELAND AM BOOK CLUB


An uplifting, relevant must-read. IMAGE MAGAZINE


Heartwarming & emotional. IRISH COUNTRY MAGAZINE


Get your tissues ready! BEST MAGAZINE


Touching, heart-aching, yet feel good read, full of love & humour. LOVEREADING.CO.UK


Quietly brilliant, will make you cry, laugh & cry all over again. FEMALE FIRST MAGAZINE


One of Ireland's most talked about female authors. THE IRISH WORLD
show more

About Carmel Harrington

Carmel Harrington is an internationally published novelist from Co. Wexford, where she lives with her family. She has published seven novels and been shortlisted twice (2016 & 2017) for an Irish Book Award. Her books have captured the hearts of readers worldwide and are published in eight languages to date. She is co-founder of The Inspiration Project and was Chair of Wexford Literary Festival from 2015 - 2018.
info@carmelharrington.com | www.carmelharrington.com | FB/TW/INST: @HappyMrsH
show more

Rating details

951 ratings
3.88 out of 5 stars
5 31% (298)
4 35% (332)
3 26% (245)
2 6% (58)
1 2% (18)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X