My Name Is Nobody
28%
off

My Name Is Nobody

3.75 (8 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

A breathless, gripping must-read for fans of Terry Hayes' I Am Pilgrim and James Swallow's Nomad'I know a secret. A secret that changes everything . . .' Solomon Vine was the best of his generation, a spy on a fast track to the top. But when a prisoner is shot in unexplained circumstances, and on his watch, only suspension and exile beckon.Three months later, in Istanbul, MI6's Head of Station is violently abducted from his home. With the Service in lockdown, uncertain of who can be trusted, thoughts turn to the missing man's oldest friend: Solomon Vine. Officially suspended, Vine can operate outside the chain of command to uncover the truth. But his investigation soon reveals that the disappearance heralds something much darker. And that there's much more at stake than the life of a single spy . . .My Name is Nobody is a sophisticated, pacey and accomplished debut novel by 26-year-old rising star Matthew Richardson. Appealing to fans of the TV series Homeland and The Night Manager - as well as, Charles Cumming and Robert Harris - this is a gripping, multi-layered and assured debut thriller that drips with an insider's knowledge of London's corridors of power.'Told with panache and a taste for the intricacies of craft that mark it as outstanding ... Solomon Vine reminds me not so much of le Carre's Smiley, but rather Len Deighton's spy in his marvellous debut The Ipcress File. If he keeps going, Vine could be that good ... a supremely confident debut' Daily Mail'A remarkable thriller ... gripping, multi-layered and assured' - Shots Magazine'Compelling, intense and sharply authentic' - James Swallow, bestselling author of Nomad 'I dare you to find a first novel as self-assured, impeccably researched and beautifully rendered . . . Richardson paints a portrait of espionage that calls to mind early le Carre' - Gregg Hurwitz, No. 1 bestselling author of Orphan Xshow more

Product details

  • Hardback | 336 pages
  • 162 x 240 x 32mm | 573g
  • Penguin Books Ltd
  • Michael Joseph Ltd
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 071818341X
  • 9780718183417
  • 6,985

Review quote

I dare you to find a first novel as self-assured, impeccably researched and beautifully rendered . . . Richardson paints a portrait of espionage that calls to mind early le Carre -- Gregg Hurwitz * No. 1 bestselling author of Orphan X * Compelling, intense and sharply authentic -- James Swallow * bestselling author of Nomad * A pleasingly convoluted spy saga . . . which combines immaculate Cold War tradecraft with modern tech savvy as our maverick hero comes up against a Le Carre-esque establishment while trying to find a mole and head off a terrorist atrocity * Sunday Times Crime Club * Truly authentic and frighteningly so . . . a remarkable thriller * Shot Magazine * Authentic, mysterious, fraught with deception, betrayal, and uncertain allegiances, it captures perfectly the foggy world of spies, populated by conspiracy and turncoats, both friends and enemies, an evocative descent into the Wilderness of Mirrors -- Jason Matthews * author of Red Sparrow * Matthew Richardson's debut is a bang-up-to-date thriller told with old-school panache. A great read -- Mick Herron * CWA Gold Dagger-winning author of Dead Lions * Elegant and assured, My Name is Nobody weaves a complex web of moles, double agents and tradecraft, brought right up to date by a fresh young voice . . . compelling spy fiction -- Michael Ridpath * bestselling author of Amnesia * A supremely confident debut . . . This story is told with panache and a taste for spy craft that mark it as outstanding * Daily Mail * Told with panache and a taste for the intricacies of craft that mark it as outstanding ... Solomon Vine reminds me not so much of le Carre's Smiley, but rather Len Deighton's spy in his marvellous debut The Ipcress File. If he keeps going, Vine could be that good ... a supremely confident debut * Daily Mail *show more

About Matthew Richardson

Matthew Richardson studied English at Durham University and Merton College, Oxford. After a brief spell as a freelance journalist, he began working as a researcher and speechwriter in Westminster, and has also written speeches for senior figures in the private sector. My Name is Nobody is his first novel.show more

Rating details

8 ratings
3.75 out of 5 stars
5 25% (2)
4 25% (2)
3 50% (4)
2 0% (0)
1 0% (0)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X