My Memories of a Future Life

My Memories of a Future Life

3.92 (144 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 4 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

'Taut plotting and sharp storytelling' 'Absolutely gripping story' 'Classy, stylish writing, a profound tale in page-turning fashion. Unreservedly recommended.' 'A strange and stubborn book, visual and visceral, original and odd... will stay with you long after finishing its final pages' - For Books' Sake Carol is a professional pianist who is forced by injury to rest. She'll give anything to play again but medicine has run out of answers. When a close friend is cured of panic attacks by apparently remembering a past life, Carol is unwillingly drawn to try hypnosis - but she doesn't believe in reincarnation so she asks to be taken to the future, her next life. Is she really experiencing her future self or just a psychological creation? And can it give her the answers she desperately needs? A novel in the vein of The Time Traveller's Wife, Vertigo and The Gargoyle, My Memories of a Future Life is much more than a 'who was I' tale. It's a provocative study of the shadows we don't know are driving our lives, from our own pasts and from the people with us right now. An examination of what we believe, what we create and how we scare and heal each other. Above all, it's the story of how one lost soul searches for where she now belongs. 'I was always fascinated by tales of regression to past lives, ' says the author Roz Morris. 'I thought, what if instead of going to the past, someone went to a future life? Who would do that? Why? What would they find? 'I began to delve into the world of the classical musician. Musical scores are exacting and dictatorial - you play a note for perhaps a sixth of a second and not only that, there are instructions for how to feel - expressivo, amoroso. It's as if you don't play a piece of classical music; you channel the spirit of the composer. And I thought, what if she couldn't do it any more? And then, what if I threw her together with someone who could trap the part of her that responded so completely to music?'show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 368 pages
  • 152 x 229 x 20mm | 540g
  • Fabled Lands Publishing
  • Spark Furnace
  • Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
  • English
  • black & white illustrations
  • 1909905933
  • 9781909905931

Review quote

'As a bookseller I have to read 100s of books. Rarely do I read books more than once for pleasure - this book is one of them - it really is that good ... Roz's books .. are so good that I just leave copies on the counter, talk about them a bit and let them sell themselves.' Peter Snell, Barton's Bookshop, Leatherhead, Surrey 'A strange and stubborn book, visual and visceral, original and odd... will stay with you long after finishing its final pages' - For Books' Sake 'Classy, stylish writing, a profound tale in page-turning fashion. Unreservedly recommended.' John Whitbourn, Victor Gollancz award winner. 'I was seriously impressed by a writer of such skill and confidence. She dances between plausible reality and the shadowy realm of interpretation, underpinned by evident intelligence. A real corker, in fact.' Jill Marsh, Words With Jam 'Fine writing, skilled storytelling, excellent pacing, twists, turns, and a story that both entertains and informs. What a welcome relief spending time under the spell of such a skilled artist. Amazingly different.' Maryann Madsen 'I am seconding the reviewer who said "I want to talk to someone about this book!" It's a born book club selection with a maze of ideas, questions and themes to discuss. I'm always on the lookout for fiction that takes creative risks, draws me in with a compelling voice and shows a real mastery of the craft of writing. This book does all that and more. My Memories of a Future Life delivers on a genius premise with grace and storytelling skill... charms us with characters we don't want to leave behind and challenges us with a complex idea we couldn't leave behind if we wanted to.A thoroughly entertaining, thought-provoking, wonderfully moving verismo of a novel.' Joni Rodgers, League of Extraordinary Authors 'Sinister elements reminiscent of The League of Gentlemen and The Prisoner ... balance between intrigue, mild terror and charlatanism is perfectly maintained ... I need to talk to someone about this book' Ruby Barnes, Build Another Bookshelf 'Like John Fowles's The Magus ... combining an unsettling plot with hints of more beyond. It's not the depressing realism of your typical Booker novelist or the light fluffiness of a slice of middle class city life. Enjoyed it immensely.' Matt Kellandshow more

Rating details

144 ratings
3.92 out of 5 stars
5 42% (60)
4 26% (38)
3 19% (27)
2 9% (13)
1 4% (6)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X