My Life as A White Trash Zombie
6%
off

My Life as A White Trash Zombie

3.93 (11,168 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

Horror meets humorous urban fantasy in first book of the White Trash Zombie series - Winner of the 2012 Best Urban Fantasy Protagonist by the RT Awards Angel Crawford is a Loser. Living with her alcoholic deadbeat dad in the swamps of southern Louisiana, she's a high school dropout with a pill habit and a criminal record who's been fired from more crap jobs than she can count. Now on probation for a felony, it seems that Angel will never pull herself out of the downward spiral her life has taken. That is, until the day she wakes up in the ER after overdosing on painkillers. Angel remembers being in a horrible car crash, but she doesn't have a mark on her. To add to the weirdness, she receives an anonymous letter telling her there's a job waiting for her at the county morgue--and that it's an offer she doesn't dare refuse. Before she knows it she's dealing wth a huge crush on a certain hunky deputy and a brand new addiction: an overpowering craving for brains. Plus, her morgue is filling up with the victims of a serial killer who decapitates his prey--just when she's hungriest! Angel's going to have to grow up fast if she wants to keep this job and stay in one piece. Because if she doesn't, she's dead meat. Literally.
show more

Out of ideas for the holidays?

Visit our Gift Guides and find our recommendations on what to get friends and family during the holiday season. Shop now .

Product details

  • Paperback | 310 pages
  • 106.68 x 174.24 x 23.37mm | 158.76g
  • New York, NY, United States
  • English
  • Original
  • 0756406757
  • 9780756406752
  • 48,521

Review quote

Praise for the White Trash Zombie series: "Rowland is a hilarious writer, and her White Trash Zombie series shines in a crowded genre." --USA Today "An incredibly fun series, and a breath of fresh air in an increasingly crowded field.... While there's no denying that the basic premise is fascinating and entertaining, the real draw here is Angel's personal journey of growth and self-discovery." --Tor.com "Uber-talented Rowland takes a break from her Demon series to produce a wonderful story with a zombie heroine who is endearing and engaging. This unique twist on a coming-of-age story explores a young woman's journey toward self-acceptance in the face of long odds. Throw in the need for brains and a nasty serial killer and presto--you have the recipe for a terrific read!" --RT Book Reviews "An intriguing mystery and a hilarious mix of the horrific and mundane aspects of zombie life open a promising new series from Rowland.... Humor and gore are balanced by surprisingly touching moments as Angel tries to turn her (un)life around." --Publishers Weekly

"Rowland's delightful novel jumps genre lines with a little something for everyone--mystery, horror, humor, and even a smattering of romance. Not to be missed--all that's required is a high tolerance for gray matter. For true zombiephiles, of course, that's a no brainer." --Library Journal "Blending very mild horror, humor and mystery, I was hooked from the start. Both urban fantasy and zombie fans will enjoy this highly entertaining novel. Full of suspense, drama, and several surprising twists, this is one zombie story I couldn't get enough of." --Sci Fi Chick

"Angel will make you laugh out loud, and she will also make you come close to losing your lunch. After all, these are creatures that suck down pureed brains for a pick-me-up.... Angel is a distinct character, and she has grown through the series." --Kings River Life Magazine "Equally gross and heartwarming, disgusting and riveting, My Life as a White Trash Zombie is a clever read. If you like to see a flawed heroine pull herself back up, and can handle visceral imagery, it's a brilliant book. Fans of Carolyn Crane, Stacia Kane and Allison Pang will dig on this one. Big time." --Vampirebookclub.net
show more

About Diana Rowland

Diana Rowland has lived her entire life below the Mason-Dixon line. She has worked as a bartender, a blackjack dealer, a pit boss, a street cop, a detective, a computer forensics specialist, a crime scene investigator, and a morgue assistant, which means that she's seen more than her share of what humans can do to each other and to themselves. She won the marksmanship award in her Police Academy class, has a black belt in Hapkido, and has handled numerous dead bodies in various states of decomposition. She presently lives in southern Louisiana with her husband and her daughter where she is deeply grateful for the existence of air conditioning. A master of urban fantasy, she's the author of the Demon series and the White Trash Zombie series. She can be contacted via her website, dianarowland.com, or on Twitter at @dianarowland.
show more

Rating details

11,168 ratings
3.93 out of 5 stars
5 29% (3,246)
4 43% (4,784)
3 22% (2,460)
2 4% (472)
1 2% (206)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X