My Home in Tasmania 2 Volume Set

My Home in Tasmania 2 Volume Set : During a Residence of Nine Years

List price: US$67.00

Currently unavailable

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks


Louisa Anne Meredith's account of her life in Tasmania was published in 1852. She was an experienced traveller, and this work is remarkable for being the first detailed account by a woman of life in the colony. Its shrewd observations and descriptive personal narrative make it an engaging read, as well as providing a valuable historical record. A keen botanist and artist, Meredith describes the island's natural life in great detail in beautiful and evocative passages. The first volume covers the journey to the island and her initial impressions of it and provides fascinating examples of colonial attitudes in the period. In Volume 2 she provides more anecdotes of her life, including descriptions of the animals and journeys within the island, and also covers more social issues, looking at religion and custom in the colony. For more information on this author, see
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 583 pages
  • 139 x 216 x 35mm | 820g
  • Cambridge, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 18 Halftones, black and white
  • 1108020356
  • 9781108020350
  • 1,525,694

Table of contents

Volume 1: Preface; 1. Departure from Sydney; 2. Night alarm; 3. The hunt; 4. Journey to Swan Port; 5. Journey continued; 6. Cambria; 7. Bush fires; 8. Excursion to the Schoutens; 9. Swan Port conchology; 10. Our new home of 'Riversdale'; 11. Home occupations; 12. The aborigines of Van Diemen's Land; 13. Joyful removal to Spring Vale; 14. Garden-making; 15. The 'Devil'. Volume 2: 1. Opossums not sluggish; 2. Wild cattle; 3. Green parrots; 4. Destroyers of poultry; 5. Garden laid out; 6. Improvements; 7. Unwelcome changes; 8. Saint Paul's Plains and River; 9. Westbury; 10. General sketch of 'Lath Hall'; 11. Our new neighbours; 12. Expedition to an enchanted valley; 13. Tasmanian eagle; 14. Church-building; 15. A winter at Port Sorell; 16. Return home; 17. Fish; 18. Improvements at Poyston; 19. Resignation.
show more