My Gym Teacher Is an Alien Overlord

My Gym Teacher Is an Alien Overlord

4.39 (174 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?


Luke may not have superpowers but that's not going to stop him from trying to save the world in the sequel to internationally bestselling My Brother Is a Superhero! When Luke's annoying older brother became a superhero instead of him, Luke thought he couldn't get any more disgruntled-- until his friend Lara became a superhero, too. Now Luke's feeling totally left out; even his best friend gets mad at him when Luke's attempts at crime-solving without superpowers go terribly awry. So when Luke discovers an alien plot to overthrow the world, he's got nobody to turn to who'll listen...nobody but his sworn enemy. In this hilarious sequel to My Brother is a Superhero, Luke will have to put on his big-boy Daredevil underpants and find out what heroes and villains are truly made of. Perfect for fans of The Last Kids on Earth and Diary of a Wimpy Kid. "In a slightly meta and very funny turn, Luke takes advantage of them: his encyclopedic knowledge of comic books gives him a strategic edge over the ETs. Wildly funny." --Kirkus Reviews
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 276 pages
  • 132 x 201 x 23mm | 227g
  • Puffin Books
  • English
  • Reprint
  • 0147516153
  • 9780147516152

About David Solomons

David Solomons is a screenwriter whose first feature film was an adaptation of Five Children and It (starring Kenneth Branagh and Eddie Izzard, with gala screenings at the Toronto and Tribeca Film Festivals). His latest film, Not Another Happy Ending, closed the Edinburgh International Film Festival. My Brother is a Superhero was his first novel for children. He was born in Glasgow and now lives in Dorset with his wife (and novelist) Natasha, and son, Luke. Follow him at @DavidSolomons2.
show more

Review quote

Praise for My Gym Teacher Is an Alien Overlord "Solomons never lets up on the humor; readers will laugh out loud, as the book uses every superhero cliche imaginable. In a slightly meta and very funny turn, Luke takes advantage of them: his encyclopedic knowledge of comic books gives him a strategic edge over the ETs.Wildly funny." --Kirkus Reviews Praise for My Brother Is a Superhero

"A non-stop action-packed, laugh-out-loud winner of a story. The main characters are finely drawn and their voices are authentic...A great book that will charm reluctant readers as well as anyone who has ever dreamed of being a superhero." --School Library Journal, starred review "Luke's narration is pitch perfect, providing just the right amount of snark, admiration, and cleverness...A hinted-at sequel will be eagerly anticipated by readers, who will want to return not only for the whizz-bang superhero stuff but also for the memorable and carefully developed sibling dynamic." --BCCB

"A loving tribute to the genre consumed with capes, masks, supervillains, and great responsibility." --Kirkus Reviews

"Comic-book devotees like Luke will appreciate references to familiar characters (Zack initially christens himself Starman until Luke reminds him, "There's already a Starman. You'll probably get sued"), but all readers will enjoy the deadpan narration that reveals the unexpected difficulties of being a modern-day superhero." --Publishers Weekly
show more

Rating details

174 ratings
4.39 out of 5 stars
5 60% (105)
4 26% (45)
3 8% (14)
2 5% (8)
1 1% (2)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X