My Grandmother Sends Her Regards and Apologises

My Grandmother Sends Her Regards and Apologises

4.01 (49,125 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author)  , Translated by 

List price: US$18.98

Currently unavailable

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks

Description

A must-read for fans of Rachel Joyce's The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry and Maria Semple's Where'd You Go, Bernadette Heartbreaking and hilarious in equal measure, the new novel by the author of the internationally bestselling phenomenon A Man Called Ove will charm and delight anyone who has ever had a grandmother. Everyone remembers the smell of their grandmother's house. Everyone remembers the stories their grandmother told them. But does everyone remember their grandmother flirting with policemen? Driving illegally? Breaking into a zoo in the middle of the night? Firing a paintball gun from a balcony in her dressing gown? Seven-year-old Elsa does. Some might call Elsa's granny 'eccentric', or even 'crazy'. Elsa calls her a superhero. And granny's stories, of knights and princesses and dragons and castles, are her superpower. Because, as Elsa is starting to learn, heroes and villains don't always exist in imaginary kingdoms; they could live just down the hallway. As Christmas draws near, even the best superhero grandmothers may have one or two things they'd like to apologise for. And, in the process, Elsa can have some breath-taking adventures of her own ...show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 352 pages
  • 138 x 222 x 32mm | 479.99g
  • Hodder & Stoughton General Division
  • Sceptre
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 1444775839
  • 9781444775839
  • 394,473

About Fredrik Backman

Fredrik Backman is a Swedish blogger, columnist and author. His debut novel A Man Called Ove was a number 1 bestseller across Scandinavia and has sold over one million copies worldwide. My Grandmother Sends Her Regards and Apologises, Fredrik's second novel, also went straight to number 1 in Sweden on publication in 2014.show more

Review quote

There are clear themes here, nominally: the importance of stories; the honesty of children; and the obtuseness of most adults, putting him firmly in league with the likes of Roald Dahl and Neil Gaiman. A touching, sometimes funny, often wise portrait of grief. Kirkus The author's lightness of touch is definitely a contributor towards the novel's success. (It's already a best seller in his native country.) Fredrik conveys much in a few words ... However a special warning to the ladies summed up in three words: wear waterproof mascara! I read the last few chapters verging between heart-glowing smiles and heart-wrenching sobs. I'll be ready for it the next few times I read it though and, indeed, the times after that. The Bookbag Told with the same comic accuracy and beating heart as [OVE] ... It is a story about life and death and one of the most important human rights: the right to be different. Laura's Little Book Blog A highly compelling read and it was easy to lose myself in the story Off the Shelf blogshow more

Rating details

49,125 ratings
4.01 out of 5 stars
5 38% (18,616)
4 36% (17,699)
3 18% (9,053)
2 5% (2,637)
1 2% (1,120)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X