My Fake Rake
10%
off

My Fake Rake : The Union of the Rakes

4.16 (30 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available soon, pre-order now.
When will my order arrive?

Description

In the first book in Eva Leigh's new Union of the Rakes series, a bluestocking enlists a faux suitor to help her land an ideal husband only to be blindsided by real desire...

Lady Grace Wyatt is content as a wallflower, focusing on scientific pursuits rather than the complications of society matches. But when a handsome, celebrated naturalist returns from abroad, Grace wishes, for once, to be noticed. Her solution: to "build" the perfect man, who will court her publicly and help her catch his eye. Grace's colleague, anthropologist Sebastian Holloway, is just the blank slate she requires.

To further his own research on English society, Sebastian agrees to let Grace transform him from a bespectacled, bookish academic into a dashing-albeit fake-rake. Between secret lessons on how to be a rogue and exaggerated public flirtations, Grace's feelings for Sebastian grow from friendship into undeniable, inconvenient, real attraction. If only she hadn't asked him to help her marry someone else...

Sebastian is in love with brilliant, beautiful Grace, but their bargain is complete, and she desires another. Yet when he's faced with losing her forever, Sebastian will do whatever it takes to tell her the truth, even if it means risking his own future-and his heart.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 384 pages
  • 106 x 168 x 24mm | 177g
  • AVON BOOKS
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • 0062932403
  • 9780062932402
  • 102,017

Review quote

"there's just something about the way [Leigh] structures her plots that slips under my skin and gets my mental wheels turning every time..." -- Seattle Review of Books "Every now and then, you discover a new (or at least, new-to-you) author who leaves you a little sunstruck... I was dazzled." -- Lisa Kleypas for Powell's "Lisa Kleypas Recommends" column- Forever Your Earl "Leigh consistently crafts whip-smart heroines and irresistible heroes delivered in packages bursting with wicked wit, feminist leanings, and sex positivity... For any who question whether historical romance is outdated or can be feminist, look no further than Eva Leigh's work - while maintaining assiduous historical accuracy, she delivers intoxicating yarns that bulldoze tropes and flip gender expectations on their head." -- Entertainment Weekly "Is there anyone better at twisting the tropes of historical romance than Leigh? [...] it will all be very hot and smart and snarky and I can't wait." -- BookPage.com (Most Anticipated Romances of Fall 2019) "Grace and Seb are delightful together, and Seb is a breath of non-alpha-hero fresh air... satisfying for readers of Courtney Milan and Tessa Dare. A sweet faux suitor romance between two scientist friends who find a new passion in one another." -- Kirkus Reviews "charming... The plot is as well developed as the lovers' growing feelings. Readers will delight in this heartfelt, swoon-worthy tale." -- Publishers Weekly (starred review)
show more

About Eva Leigh

Eva Leigh is a romance author who has always loved the Regency era. She writes novels chock-full of determined women and sexy men. She enjoys baking, spending too much time on the Internet, and listening to music from the '80s. Eva and her husband live in Central California.
show more

Rating details

30 ratings
4.16 out of 5 stars
5 43% (13)
4 40% (12)
3 7% (2)
2 10% (3)
1 0% (0)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X