My Dear I Wanted to Tell You
13%
off

My Dear I Wanted to Tell You

3.83 (4,799 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

"My Dear I Wanted to Tell You is one of those books that doesn't leave you, and probably never will."
--Jacqueline Winspear, New York Times bestselling author of the Maisie Dobbs novels

The onrush of World War I irrevocably intertwines the lives of two young couples in Louisa Young's epic tale of love in the midst of chaos. Perfect for readers of Atonement, The Mapping of Love and Death, and The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Society, Young's moving novel of class struggles, star-crossed romance, and the grim reality of the battlefield is a stunning exploration of the devastating consequences, physical and spiritual, of a world enmeshed in Total War.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 330 pages
  • 132.08 x 198.12 x 22.86mm | 249.47g
  • HARPER PERENNIAL
  • English
  • Illustrations, black and white
  • 0061997153
  • 9780061997150
  • 989,214

Back cover copy

The lives of two very different couples--an officer and his aristocratic wife, and a young soldier and his childhood sweetheart--are irrevocably intertwined and forever changed in this stunning World War I epic of love and war.



At eighteen years old, working-class Riley Purefoy and "posh" Nadine Waveney have promised each other the future, but when war erupts across Europe, everything they hold to be true is thrown into question. Dispatched to the trenches, Riley forges a bond of friendship with his charismatic commanding officer, Peter Locke, as they fight for their survival. Yet it is Locke's wife, Julia, who must cope with her husband's transformation into a distant shadow of the man she once knew. Meanwhile, Nadine and Riley's bonds are tested as well by a terrible injury and the imperfect rehabilitation that follows it, as both couples struggle to weather the storm of war that rages about them.

Moving among Ypres, London, and Paris, this emotionally rich and evocative novel is both a powerful exploration of the lasting effects of war on those who fight--and those who don't--and a poignant testament to the enduring power of love.
show more

Review quote

Every once in a while comes a novel that generates its own success, simply by being loved. Louisa Young s My Dear I Wanted to Tell You inspires the kind of devotion among its readers not seen since David Nicholls One Day. --The Times (London)"
show more

Rating details

4,799 ratings
3.83 out of 5 stars
5 27% (1,291)
4 40% (1,931)
3 24% (1,160)
2 6% (309)
1 2% (108)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X