Music for the Common Man

Music for the Common Man : Aaron Copland during the Depression and War

5 (2 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?


Music for the Common Man: Aaron Copland during the Depression and War is the first sustained attempt to understand some of Copland's best known music in the context of leftwing social, political, and cultural currents of the Great Depression and Second World War. In the 1930s Aaron Copland began to write in an accessible style he called "imposed simplicity." Works like El Salon Mexico, Billy the Kid, Lincoln Portrait, and Appalachian Spring not only brought the composer unprecedented popular success but also came to define an American sound. Yet the political alignment behind this musical idiom-the social agenda that might be heard within these familiar pieces-has been largely overlooked, even though it has long been acknowledged that Copland subscribed to leftwing ideals. His politics never merely accorded with mainstream New Deal liberalism or wartime patriotism, however, but advanced a progressive vision of American society and culture.
His music from the thirties and forties relates to the politics of radical progressivism, which affirmed a fundamental sensitivity toward those less fortunate, support of multiethnic pluralism, belief in social democracy, and faith that America's past could be put in service of a better future. Investing symbols of America-whether the West, folk song, patriotism, or the people-with progressive social ideals, Copland's music wrestles with the political complexities and cultural contradictions of the era.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 272 pages
  • 154.94 x 233.68 x 20.32mm | 385.55g
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • 4 halftones, 23 music examples
  • 0195383591
  • 9780195383591

Table of contents

Introduction ; 1. Expanding Americaural Front ; 3. Creating Community ; 4. "The Dancing of an Attitude" ; 5. In Wartime ; Conclusion
show more

About Elizabeth B. Crist

Elizabeth Bergman Crist is Assistant Professor of Music, Princeton University, and co-editor (with Wayne Shirley) of The Selected Correspondence of Aaron Copland (Yale, 2006).
show more

Rating details

2 ratings
5 out of 5 stars
5 100% (2)
4 0% (0)
3 0% (0)
2 0% (0)
1 0% (0)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X