Music and Morals

Music and Morals

By (author) 

List price: US$80.00

Currently unavailable

We can notify you when this item is back in stock

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks


The English cleric and writer H. R. Haweis (1838-1901) considers the philosophical side of music and how it is connected with emotions and morals in this 1871 publication. Containing an interesting mixture of musical philosophy and facts, the book is divided into four sections - Philosophical, Biographical, Instrumental and Critical - each of which comprises a series of short entries or essays on a wide range of subjects. Haweis provides informative biographies of a number of great composers, including Handel, Schubert, Mozart, Beethoven and Mendelssohn, together with analysis of some of their best-known works. He takes an in-depth look at a selection of instruments, including violins and pianos, and concludes with a section of short essays on a wide range of topics including brass bands, musical tastes in England, conductors and opera. Quirky and engaging, the book contains a wealth of information and will appeal to any more

Product details

  • Electronic book text
  • Cambridge University Press (Virtual Publishing)
  • Cambridge, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 1139105523
  • 9781139105521

Table of contents

Book I. Philosophical: Music, Emotion, and Morals; Book II. Biographical: From Ambrose to Handel; Handel; Gluck; Haydn; Schubert; Chopin; The letters of Mozart; The letters of Beethoven; Mendelssohn; Book III. Instrumental: Violins; Pianoforte; Bells; Book IV. Critical: Music in England; Conclusion; more