Murder on the Moor
6%
off

Murder on the Moor

4.1 (452 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Expected delivery to the United States in 10-15 business days.


Not ordering to the United States? Click here.

Description

Mystery Awaits on the Mysterious Yorkshire Moors

At the urgent request of an old school friend, Drew and Madeline Farthering come to Bloodworth Park Lodge in the midst of the Yorkshire moors, a place as moody and mysterious as a Bronte hero. There have been several worrisome incidents out on the moor--property destroyed, fires started, sheep and cattle scattered--and worst of all, the vicar has been found dead on the steps of the church.

Drew's friend is obviously smitten with his bride of eight months, though it's hard to imagine what she sees in the awkward man. Drew can't help wondering if her affections lie more with the man's money and estate, while her romantic interests focus on their fiery Welsh gamekeeper. As the danger grows ever closer, it's up to Drew to look past his own prejudices, determine what is really going on, and find the killer before it's too late.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 336 pages
  • 140 x 216 x 27.94mm | 304g
  • Bethany House Publishers, a division of Baker Publishing Group
  • Ada, MI, United States
  • English
  • Illustrations, black and white
  • 076421828X
  • 9780764218286
  • 988,226

Back cover copy

The rolling, frigid mists that creep in over the Yorkshire Moors hide a mystery as challenging as Drew has ever faced

At the urgent request of an old school friend, Drew and Madeline Farthering come to Bloodworth Park Lodge in the midst of the Yorkshire moors, a place as moody and mysterious as a Brontë hero. There have been several worrisome incidents around those lonesome rolling hills--property desecrated, fires started, sheep and cattle scattered. Worst of all, the vicar has been found dead on the steps of the church, a crime for which Drew can discern no motive at all.

Few in the town of Bunting's Nest seem like suspects, and Drew can't keep his suspicions from falling on his friend's new bride. Do her affections lie more with her husband's money and estate, while her romantic interests stray to their fiery Welsh gamekeeper? As the danger grows ever closer, it's up to Drew to look past his own prejudices, determine what's really going on, and find the killer before it's too late.

"A fast-paced historical murder mystery that has beloved characters who are cunning, charming, and determined to get their man or woman and bring them to justice. The storyline is believable, with roller-coaster twists and turns one does not see coming. Deering is a gifted author and she knows what fans of historical mysteries look for."--RT Book Reviews

Praise for Julianna Deering and Drew Farthering

"The author has given readers a great tale with an intricate web of characters . . . . A mystery even Agatha Christie would love to read until the final word came to pass."--Suspense Magazine on Dressed for Death

"Deering smoothly blends suspense and humor with a touch of romance."--Publishers Weekly

"For fans of Agatha Christie and Dorothy Sayers, these charming British mysteries are a treat not to be missed."--Library Journal
show more

About Julianna Deering

Julianna Deering is the creator of the acclaimed Drew Farthering Mystery series. She has always loved British history and is a particular fan of the writings of Dorothy Sayers and Agatha Christie. She graduated from the University of Texas at Dallas with a degree in business administration and spent several years as a Certified Public Accountant. She lives outside Dallas, Texas. For more information visit www.juliannadeering.com.
show more

Rating details

452 ratings
4.1 out of 5 stars
5 37% (169)
4 39% (177)
3 20% (90)
2 4% (16)
1 0% (0)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X