Muffled

Muffled

4.18 (16 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 4 business days


When will my order arrive?

Available. Expected delivery to the United States in 9-12 business days.


Not ordering to the United States? Click here.

Description

A young girl learns how to cope with her noise sensitivity and step outside of her comfort zone in this heartwarming middle grade novel that's perfect for fans of If This Were a Story and El Deafo. Ten-year-old Amelia does not like noise. From subway brakes to squeaky sneakers, she is sensitive to sound, just like her dad. Amelia has always worn noise-canceling headphones, but now that she's going into fifth grade, her parents want her to stop wearing them. To make matters worse, she must learn to play an instrument! Or, as Amelia sees it, make noise on purpose. To help Amelia cope, her father gives her a pair of earmuffs to wear instead. Even with her new earmuffs, Amelia struggles at school...until she gets partnered with Madge in music class. Madge is loud and bold and goofy--everything Amelia is not. And so Amelia is surprised when Madge wants to be friends. Still, it's not long though before Amelia's quiet nature clashes with Madge's loud personality. And when Madge disappears after an argument, Amelia fears Madge might be in trouble. If she's going to help her friend, she will have to find a way to let in the noisy world she's muffled for so long.
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 224 pages
  • 140 x 210 x 23mm | 340g
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • f-c jacket (spfx: spot gloss)
  • 1534463658
  • 9781534463653

Review quote

"A sweet book that packs a quiet punch. Readers will feel for quiet Amelia as she fights to find her place in a noisy world."--Gennifer Choldenko, Newbery-Honor winning author of AL CAPONE DOES MY SHIRTS and ORPHAN ELEVEN
show more

Rating details

16 ratings
4.18 out of 5 stars
5 50% (8)
4 19% (3)
3 31% (5)
2 0% (0)
1 0% (0)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X