Mozart's Last Aria
15%
off

Mozart's Last Aria

3.17 (1,302 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

Award-winning author Matt Rees takes readers to 18th centuryAustria, where Mozart's estranged sister Nannerl stumblesinto a world of ambition, conspiracy, and immortal music while attempting touncover the truth about her brother's suspicious death. Did Mozart's life endin murder? Nannerl must brave dire circumstances tofind out, running afoul of the secret police, the freemasons, and even theAustrian Emperor himself as she delves into a scandal greater than she had everimagined. With captivating historical details, compelling characters, and areal-life mystery upon which everything hinges, Rees--the award-winning authorof the internationally acclaimed Omar Yussefcrime series--writes in the tradition of Irvin Yalom'sWhen Nietzsche Wept, Louis Bayard's The Pale Blue Eye, andPhillip Sington's The Einstein Girl to achievethe very best in historical fiction with Mozart's Last Aria.
show more

Out of ideas for the holidays?

Visit our Gift Guides and find our recommendations on what to get friends and family during the holiday season. Shop now .

Product details

  • Paperback | 303 pages
  • 137 x 203 x 23mm | 249g
  • HarperCollins Publishers
  • New York, NY, United States
  • English
  • Maps
  • 0062015869
  • 9780062015860
  • 707,304

Black Friday Deals Week

Check out this week's discounts for Black Friday Deals Week. Shop now .

Back cover copy

The news arrives in a letter to his sister, Nannerl, in December 1791. But the message carries more than word of Nannerl's brother's demise. Two months earlier, Mozart confided to his wife that his life was rapidly drawing to a close . . . and that he knew he had been poisoned.

In Vienna to pay her final respects, Nannerl soon finds herself ensnared in a web of suspicion and intrigue--as the actions of jealous lovers, sinister creditors, rival composers, and Mozart's Masonic brothers suggest that dark secrets hastened the genius to his grave. As Nannerl digs deeper into the mystery surrounding her brother's passing, Mozart's black fate threatens to overtake her as well.

Transporting readers to the salons and concert halls of eighteenth-century Austria, Mozart's Last Aria is a magnificent historical mystery that pulls back the curtain on a world of soaring music, burning passion, and powerful secrets.
show more

Review quote

This absorbing Viennese soap opera is a solid choice for readers who like fiction about historical figures caught up in suspenseful intrigues such as Matthew Pearl s The Dante Club or Gyles Brandreth s Oscar Wilde mysteries. --Library Journal"
show more

Rating details

1,302 ratings
3.17 out of 5 stars
5 10% (134)
4 26% (334)
3 40% (522)
2 19% (250)
1 5% (62)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X