The Mother-in-Law
10%
off

The Mother-in-Law : the must-read novel of 2019

4.16 (2,535 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available soon, pre-order now.
When will my order arrive?

Description

From the bestselling author of The Family Next Door comes a new domestic page-turner about that trickiest of relationships and what happens when it all goes wrong

'Fiction at its finest' Liane Moriarty, Number One bestselling author

'Perfect for fans of BIG LITTLE LIES' - Library Journal

She has never approved of you. But it's when her body is found the secrets really start to come out ...

From the moment Lucy met her husband's mother, Diana, she was kept at arm's length. Diana was exquisitely polite, and perfectly friendly, but Lucy knew that she was not what Diana envisioned. Even so, Lucy wanted so much to please her new mother-in-law.

That was five years ago.

Now, Diana has been found dead, a suicide note near her body. Diana claims that she no longer wanted to live because of a battle with cancer.

But the autopsy finds no cancer.
The autopsy does find traces of poison and suffocation.

Everyone in the family is hiding something. But what? And where will the secrets stop?

With Lucy's secrets getting deeper and her relationship with her mother-in-law growing more complex as the pages turn, this new novel from Sally Hepworth is sure to add to her growing legion of fans.

'The Mother-in-Law is indeed twisty and suspenseful, but even more than that, it's clever and nuanced' Kelly Rimmer, bestselling author of Me Without You
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 368 pages
  • 164 x 197 x 27mm | 326g
  • Hodder Paperback
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 147369700X
  • 9781473697003
  • 2,727

Review Text

Clever, chilling and beautifully crafted Adele Parks, bestselling author of I Invited Her In
show more

Review quote

A compelling read that touches on important themes, not least the different forms that love may take -- Number One bestselling author of * The Rosie Project * Reminds us of Big Little Lies and is just as gripping * Good Housekeeping * Women's fiction at its finest -- Liane Moriarty, Number One bestselling author of * Big Little Lies * Praise for Sally Hepworth * - * I read a lot of psychological suspense, and I can honestly say, this is one of my favourites. What I loved about it was its humanity and believablity. Sally demonstrates that you don't need outlandish situations and monstrous characters to write a thoroughly engrossing, suspenseful thriller, and her writing feels so effortless. I hope it does very well -- Emma Curtis, bestselling author of * One Little Mistake * The Mother-in-Law was absolutely wonderful! A real slow burn domestic mystery, which had me turning the pages faster and faster the deeper I delved into the story! Throughout the second half you couldn't tear me away from it and every new twist and turn was a slap to the face! Cleverly plotted and completely compelling -- Nicola Moriarty, author of * The Fifth letter * It's not often that such a gripping page-turner can be so moving -- Sarah Naughton, bestselling author of * The Other Couple * I totally loved the book. The characters are so beautifully drawn and it was an emotional read, but I couldn't put it down -- Heidi Parks, bestselling author of * Now You See Her * Clever, chilling and beautifully crafted -- Adele Parks, bestselling author of * I Invited Her In *
show more

About Sally Hepworth

Sally Hepworth is the bestselling author of three previous novels, and a human resource professional. A graduate of Monash University in Melbourne, Australia, Sally started writing novels after the birth of her first child. Sally has lived around the world, spending extended periods in Singapore, the UK, and Canada, and she now writes full-time from her home in Melbourne, where she lives with her husband and two young children.
show more

Rating details

2,535 ratings
4.16 out of 5 stars
5 38% (953)
4 45% (1,142)
3 14% (365)
2 2% (60)
1 1% (15)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X