Mother Knows Best
18%
off

Mother Knows Best : A Novel of Suspense

3.84 (1,318 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 1 business day


When will my order arrive?

Available. Expected delivery to the United States in 6-9 business days.


Not ordering to the United States? Click here.

Description

One of POPSUGAR's Top 15 Medical Thrillers
One of REAL SIMPLE's 35 Chilling Psychological Thrillers
One of THE NERD DAILY's Top Sept. 2019 Book Releases A mother's worst nightmare, a chance at redemption, and a deadly secret that haunts a family across the generations. There's only room for one mother in this family. Claire Abrams's dreams became a nightmare when she passed on a genetic mutation that killed her little boy. Now she wants a second chance to be a mother, and finds it in Robert Nash, a maverick fertility doctor who works under the radar with Jillian Hendricks, a cunning young scientist bent on making her mark--and seducing her boss. Claire, Robert, and Jillian work together to create the world's first baby with three genetic parents--an unprecedented feat that could eliminate inherited disease. But when word of their illegal experiment leaks to the wrong person, Robert escapes into hiding with the now-pregnant Claire, leaving Jillian to serve out a prison sentence that destroys her future. Ten years later, a spunky girl named Abigail begins to understand that all is not right with the reclusive man and woman she knows as her parents. But the family's problems are only beginning. Jillian, hardened by a decade of jealousy and loss, has returned--and nothing will stop her from reuniting with the man and daughter who should have been hers. Past, present, and future converge in this mesmerizing psychological thriller from critically acclaimed author Kira Peikoff.
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 288 pages
  • 160 x 242 x 27.94mm | 453.59g
  • United States
  • English
  • 1643850407
  • 9781643850405
  • 2,404,783

Review quote

Praise for Mother Knows Best

The psychological thriller everyone will be talking about...Don't miss it!
--Lisa Scottoline, New York Times bestselling and award-winning author of After Anna A story about female identity just as much as motherhood...Quite the page turner.
--Cultured Vultures

[A] propulsive, page-turning thriller...the pace hardly stops for a breath.
--The Nerd Daily

[A] fascinating psychological thriller...Peikoff expertly exposes the dark side of contemporary medical science"
--Publishers Weekly Peikoff (Living Proof, 2012, etc.) deftly juggles past and present and multiple voices in short, punchy chapters that create a sense of urgency while exploring grief, motherhood, the bonds of family...An engaging and timely thriller that offers lots of food for thought."
--Kirkus Reviews [Peikoff] can make complex scientific procedures comprehensible for even the non-scientist...Fans of Michael Palmer and Robin Cook will want to check this out.
--Library Journal

"A true and compelling page-turner of a suspense thriller from cover to cover."
--Midwest Book Review "A fast-moving thriller...It will also make you wonder about how far a mother will go to protect her child, no matter how that child came to be hers."
--Mystery Scene Magazine [Mother Knows Best] had me compulsively turning the pages to find out what happens next!...This novel does a terrific job of presenting controversies in bioethics in the easily accessible prose of a psychological thriller.
--Criminal Element

A compelling tale....Peikoff knows what she's talking about as she weaves a believable yarn that includes gaslighting, manipulating (of cells and minds) and how a mother's love can triumph.
--NJ.com

Kira Peikoff has crafted a smart, pulse-pounding, and achingly human story of a family in the cross hairs of where ethics and science converge. A totally satisfying read.
--Andrew Gross, New York Times bestselling author of Button Man A rocket-paced thriller that dives deep into questions about science, family, and how far we'll go to protect the people we love the most.
--Lisa Unger, New York Times bestselling author of The Stranger Inside Mother Know Best is thought-provoking, nail-biting, and heartfelt...I couldn't put it down.
--Meg Gardiner, award-winning author of UNSUB Timely, tense, and trailblazing...Peikoff's seamless prose, very human, voice, and whiplash pacing makes this psychological thriller one of the must-reads of 2019. Two mothers is one too many.
--K. J. Howe, international bestselling author of The Freedom Broker Pekioff's work is always a joy to read. This is a smart, original and compelling thriller.
--Peter James, #1 bestselling author of the Roy Grace series Kira Pekioff hasn't just done her research, she's spun it into a real-life bioelthical dilemma that could be coming soon to a doctor's office near you. Perfect for a book group--or to race through all by yourself...flat-out fantastic.
--Brad Parks, international bestselling author of The Last Act
A fast-paced, intriguing novel with terrific, believable characters...and will make for an enjoyable evening or two for readers of all genres.
--Bookreporter.com
show more

About Kira Peikoff

Kira Peikoff is the author of Living Proof, No Time to Die, and Die Again Tomorrow. She has a degree in journalism from New York University and a master's in bioethics from Columbia. By day, she is the editor-in-chief of leapsmag.com, a digital magazine about innovation and ethics in the life sciences. She has also contributed articles to the science section of the New York Times, Newsweek, Popular Mechanics, Nautilus, Slate, Cosmopolitan.com, and other mainstream media outlets. Peikoff is a proud member of The Authors Guild, International Thriller Writers, and Mystery Writers of America. She lives in New Jersey with her husband and young son.
show more

Rating details

1,318 ratings
3.84 out of 5 stars
5 25% (330)
4 43% (562)
3 25% (329)
2 6% (81)
1 1% (16)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X