The Mortal Word
20%
off

The Mortal Word

4.2 (5,434 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

The Mortal Word is part of Genevieve Cogman's witty and wonderful Invisible Library series, which can be enjoyed as part of a sequence or as standalones.

A corrupt countess. A spy in danger. And an assassin at large.

Peace talks are always tricky . . . especially when a key diplomat gets stabbed. This murder rudely interrupts a top-secret summit between the warring dragons and Fae, so Librarian-spy Irene is summoned to investigate. In a version of 1890s Paris, Irene and her detective friend Vale must track down the killer - before either the peace negotiations or the city go up in flames.

Accusations fly thick and fast. Irene soon finds herself in the seedy depths of the Parisian underworld on the trail of a notoriously warlike Fae, the Blood Countess. However, the evidence against the Countess is circumstantial. Could the assassin - or assassins - be closer than anyone suspects?

The Mortal Word is perfect for fans of Doctor Who and Sherlock Holmes.

'Captivating story with animated characters . . . cracking pace' - Guardian
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 432 pages
  • 130 x 197 x 25mm | 306g
  • Pan Books
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • Main Market Ed.
  • 1509830723
  • 9781509830725
  • 37,434

Review Text

Cogman fills a captivating story with animated characters and propels the narrative at a cracking pace, planting perfectly timed plot twists and reversals of fortune along the way Guardian
show more

Review quote

Reminiscent of the works of Diana Wynne Jones and Neil Gaiman . . a true treat to read -- Publishers Weekly on The Invisible Library (Book One) Brilliant and so much fun. Skullduggery, Librarians, and Dragons - Cogman keeps upping the ante on this delightful series! -- Charles Stross on The Burning Page (Book Three) Irene is a great heroine: fiery, resourceful and no one's fool, she has a wonderfully droll sense of humour - much like the novel itself -- Guardian on The Masked City (Book Two) I absolutely loved this . . . flavoured with truly unique mythology and a dash of the eldritch. Such clever, creepy, elaborate worldbuilding and snarky, sexy-smart characters! -- N. K. Jemisin on The Invisible Library (Book One) Cogman fills a captivating story with animated characters and propels the narrative at a cracking pace, planting perfectly timed plot twists and reversals of fortune along the way * Guardian *
show more

About Genevieve Cogman

Genevieve Cogman started on Tolkien and Sherlock Holmes at an early age, and has never looked back. But on a perhaps more prosaic note, she has an MSc in Statistics with Medical Applications and has wielded this in an assortment of jobs: clinical coder, data analyst and classifications specialist. Although The Invisible Library was her debut novel, she previously worked as a freelance roleplaying game writer. She is also the author of The Masked City, The Burning Page and The Lost Plot, all in The Invisible Library series. Genevieve Cogman's hobbies include patchwork, beading, knitting and gaming, and she lives in the north of England.
show more

Rating details

5,434 ratings
4.2 out of 5 stars
5 39% (2,131)
4 45% (2,424)
3 14% (776)
2 2% (91)
1 0% (12)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X