The Moor
18%
off

The Moor : A journey into the English wilderness

3.59 (107 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 1 business day
When will my order arrive?

Description

Shortlisted for the 2015 Wainwright Prize

In this journey across England's most forbidding and mysterious terrain, William Atkins takes the reader from south to north, exploring moorland's uniquely captivating position in our history, literature and psyche. Atkins' journey is full of encounters, busy with the voices of the moors, past and present. He shows us that, while the fierce terrains we associate with Wuthering Heights and The Hound of the Baskervilles are very human landscapes, the moors remain daunting and defiant, standing steadfast against the passage of time.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 400 pages
  • 129 x 198 x 24mm | 330g
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • Main
  • 0571290051
  • 9780571290055
  • 297,070

Review Text

An ambitious mix of history, topography, literary criticism and nature writing, in the tradition of WG Sebald, Robert MacFarlane and Olivia Laing . . . One of the strengths of Atkins's book is its resistance to the obvious. Blake Morrison Guardian Book of the Week
show more

About William Atkins

William Atkins grew up in Hampshire. After studying art history, he went on to work in publishing, where he edited prize-winning fiction. He now works as a freelance editor, and studies and writes about Britain's marginal landscapes. He lives in north London.
show more

Rating details

107 ratings
3.59 out of 5 stars
5 16% (17)
4 40% (43)
3 33% (35)
2 10% (11)
1 1% (1)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X