Moon Witch, Spider King

Moon Witch, Spider King : Dark Star Trilogy 2

4.22 (1,241 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Expected delivery to the United States in 6-9 business days.


Not ordering to the United States? Click here.

Description

THE SECOND NOVEL IN THE REVOLUTIONARY DARK STAR TRILOGY IS HERE!

Booker Prize-winner Marlon James once again draws on a rich tradition of African mythology and fantasy to imagine a mythic world, a lost child, a 177-year-old witch and a mystery with many answers . . .

*Perfect for fans of Pratchett, George R. R. Martin and Octavia Butler*

'Even more gripping and inventive than its predecessor . . . like Tolkien on ayahuasca' Observer

*****

Part adventure, part chronicle of an indomitable woman - the witch Sogolon - who bows to no man, this is an unforgettable exploration of power, personality, and the places where they overlap, set in a world at once ancient and startlingly modern.

In the words of Neil Gaiman, James has created 'a fantasy world as well-realized as anything Tolkien made, with language as powerful as Angela Carter's'.

Chronicling the same events but telling a very different story - who will you believe? Read THE DARK STAR TRILOGY in any order! Book one, BLACK LEOPARD, RED WOLF, is available now.

*****

'Moving, vivid, and thought-provoking . . . brilliant' Buzzfeed

'James masterfully flips the first instalment on its head . . . [A] titanic story of empire, adventure and power' Esquire

'Told with James' inimitable linguistic verve . . . Riotous, ultraviolent, dazzlingly inventive' Literary Hub
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 656 pages
  • 162 x 240 x 43mm | 867g
  • Hamish Hamilton Ltd
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 0241314437
  • 9780241314432
  • 65,211

Review Text

James masterfully flips the first instalment on its head . . . [A] titanic story of empire, adventure and power
show more

Review quote

Moving, vivid, and thought-provoking . . . brilliant * Buzzfeed * James masterfully flips the first instalment on its head . . . [A] titanic story of empire, adventure and power * Esquire * Told with James' inimitable linguistic verve . . . Riotous, ultraviolent, dazzlingly inventive * Literary Hub * A dangerous, hallucinatory, ancient Africa, which becomes a fantasy world as well-realised as anything Tolkien made, with language as powerful as Angela Carter's. I cannot wait for the next instalment -- Neil Gaiman Even more gripping and inventive than its predecessor . . . like Tolkien on ayahuasca * Observer *
show more

About Marlon James

Marlon James is the author of the New York Times bestseller A Brief History of Seven Killings, The Book of Night Women, and John Crow's Devil. A Brief History of Seven Killings won the Man Booker Prize, the American Book Award and the Anisfield-Wolf Award for Fiction, and was a finalist for the National Book Critics Circle Award. The Book of Night Women won the Minnesota Book Award and was a finalist for the National Book Critics Circle Award, as well as the NAACP Image Award. Marlon James is a professor at Macalester College in St Paul. He divides his time between Minnesota and New York.
show more

Rating details

1,241 ratings
4.22 out of 5 stars
5 46% (567)
4 37% (453)
3 13% (160)
2 4% (44)
1 1% (17)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X