The Moon Sister

The Moon Sister

4.22 (36,107 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Expected delivery to the United States in 7-10 business days.


Not ordering to the United States? Click here.

Description

From the Scottish Highlands and Spain, to South America and New York, The Moon Sister is the fifth epic story in the Seven Sisters series by the international number one bestseller Lucinda Riley. A spellbinding story of love and loss, inspired by the mythology of the famous star constellation.

After the death of her father - Pa Salt, an elusive billionaire who adopted his six daughters from around the globe - Tiggy D'Apliese , trusting her instincts, moves to the remote wilds of Scotland. There she takes a job doing what she loves; caring for animals on the vast and isolated Kinnaird estate, employed by the enigmatic and troubled Laird, Charlie Kinnaird.

Her decision alters her future irrevocably when Chilly, an ancient gipsy who has lived for years on the estate, tells her that not only does she possess a sixth sense, passed down from her ancestors, but it was foretold long ago that he would be the one to send her back home to Granada in Spain . . .

In the shadow of the magnificent Alhambra, Tiggy discovers her connection to the fabled gypsy community of Sacromonte, who were forced to flee their homes during the civil war, and to 'La Candela' the greatest flamenco dancer of her generation.

Tiggy follows the trail back to her own exotic but complex past, and under the watchful eye of a gifted gypsy bruja she begins to embrace her own talent for healing.

But when fate takes a hand, Tiggy must decide whether to stay with her new-found family or return to Kinnaird, and Charlie . . .

The Moon Sister follows The Seven Sisters, The Storm Sister, The Shadow Sister and The Pearl Sister. Continue the epic multi-million selling series with The Sun Sister.

'Lucinda Riley at the top of her game: a magical storyteller who creates characters we fall in love with and who stay with us long after we finish reading.' - Lucy Foley, bestselling author of The Hunting Party.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 768 pages
  • 130 x 197 x 48mm | 536g
  • PAN Books
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • Main Market Ed.
  • 9781509840113
  • 1,561

Review Text

A beautifully written series . . . A magical adventure.
show more

Review quote

A beautifully written series . . . A magical adventure. -- Woman's World Magazine, USA A breathtaking adventure brimming with cruelty, tragedy, passion, obsession and, most of all, the music, rhythm and spirit of Spain's gitano community... There is a real fire to this exciting new chapter in the captivating Seven Sisters odyssey, an extraordinary sense of drawing inexorably nearer to solving the intriguing conundrum of Pa Salt's death and the tantalizing mystery of the missing sister. -- Lancashire Evening Post A heartfelt, powerful, and spiritual saga. I don't know how she infuses her characters with so much humanity, passion, warmth and love, keeps the plot moving and brings the past alive so profoundly, but she does so beautifully. If you've ever wondered if writers are magicians, just read one of Lucinda Riley's novels and you'll have the answer. -- M.J. Rose, New York Times bestselling author This family saga moves between past and present, and is an engrossing read. I've read all of the series so far . . . possibly the best one yet! -- North Norfolk Living Riley's meticulous research and attention to detail immerse readers in historical background, bringing Tiggy and her Spanish birth family to life. Fans of Kristin Hannah, Kate Morton, and Riley's previous novels will adore this anticipated series continuation. -- Booklist, USA The tension, sweeping descriptions, and multiple subplots catch the reader early and don't let go. Touches of magical realism and musical culture add to the gorgeous descriptions and historical details. -- Historical Novel Society, USA In each of her series novels, Riley draws magnetic and strong women, polar opposites in personality but all of them fearless and determined. This entry will delight followers of Riley's series, but also appeal to new readers -- Library Journal, USA
show more

About Lucinda Riley

Lucinda Riley was born in 1965 in Ireland, and after an early career as an actress in film, theatre and television, wrote her first book aged twenty-four. Her books have been translated into thirty-seven languages and continue to strike an emotional chord with all cultures around the world. The Seven Sisters series specifically has become a global phenomenon, creating its own genre, and there are plans to create a seven-season TV series.

Her books have been nominated for numerous awards, including the Italian Bancarella prize, The Lovely Books award in Germany, and the Romantic Novel of the Year award. In 2020 she received the Dutch Platinum award for sales over 300,000 copies for a single novel in one year - an award last won by J K Rowling for Harry Potter.

In collaboration with her son Harry Whittaker, she also devised a series of books for children called The Guardian Angels series, based on stories told to her children whenever they were facing a challenging situation. Harry then wrote the books, and they are now being published internationally.

Though she brought up her four children mostly in Norfolk in England, in 2015 she fulfilled her dream of buying a remote farmhouse in West Cork, Ireland, which she always felt was her spiritual home, and indeed this was where her last five books were written.

Lucinda was diagnosed with cancer in 2017 and died on June 11th 2021, surrounded by her family.
show more

Rating details

36,107 ratings
4.22 out of 5 stars
5 44% (15,746)
4 38% (13,862)
3 15% (5,477)
2 2% (849)
1 0% (173)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X