Monteverdi : Music in Transition

By (author)  , Translated by 

List price: US$84.99

Currently unavailable

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks


Silke Leopold's "Claudio Monteverdi und seine Zeit" was published in German in 1982 and was the first Monteverdi monograph to appear in German for over 30 years. This English translation has been revised in the light of recent scholarship and makes the author's illuminating research available in English for the first time. Eschewing a standard life-and-works approach, the author examines Monteverdi's music as a whole, focusing on the technical details of his style as they appear throughout his "oeuvre" and illustrating them with a large number of musical examples. Not only does this offer insights into the connections, links and inter-relationships in Monteverdi's works but it also illustrates how a major musical figure approached composition at a time when musicians had rejected the polyphonic compositional basis of the late Renaissance and turned instead to a monodic style, where harmonic and textual considerations were paramount. A detailed chronology provides the necessary biographical background and by listing Monteverdi's works alongside those of his contemporaries, places his music firmly in more

Product details

  • Hardback | 275 pages
  • 162 x 236 x 24mm | 621.42g
  • Oxford University Press
  • Clarendon Press
  • Oxford, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 8 pp plates, music examples, bibliography
  • 0193152487
  • 9780193152489

Table of contents

A change in style; pastoral themes; Ostinato and other bass models; the lament; church music; the musician in society; primacy, dating, and authenticity; Chronological list of Monteverdi's more

Review quote

"Very readable....A solid introduction to the last great composer of the Renaissance, and the first of the Baroque."--Renaissance Quarterly"It does claim to be a 'comprehensive monograph directed chiefly towards a lay audience but also in part towards specialists', and this claim it fulfils, perhaps more ably than any other book....As handsome, as well-designed, and as impeccably printed as one expects of the Clarendon Press's musicological monographs."--Wilfrid Mellers, Times Literary Supplementshow more