The Monster Next Door
20%
off

The Monster Next Door

3.66 (177 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

From the creator of Ladybug Girl and Three Bears in a Boat, this funny and endearing tale of friendship found and tested is perfect for fans of The Adventures of Beekle In a big field, a boy has a tree house, and one day, he has a neighbor--a monster with a talent for silly dances and funny faces. The two become fast friends, even setting up a pulley line to pass notes between their tree houses. The boy knows just how to celebrate this invention--with music! But the monster's tuba music is loud. Really loud. WAY. TOO. LOUD. Before the boy can think, he hurls a water balloon at his neighbor to get him to stop. An epic water-balloon fight ensues, until the boy--fed up, spent, done--cuts the pulley line. No more note-passing. No more monster. Can the boy and monster ever be friends again? Does the boy even want to? Maybe he just needs to see things from a new, unexpected perspective.show more

Product details

  • 3-5
  • Hardback | 40 pages
  • 259.08 x 259.08 x 12.7mm | 430.91g
  • Penguin Putnam Inc
  • Dial Books for Young Readers,US
  • United States
  • English
  • Illustrations, unspecified
  • 052542783X
  • 9780525427834

About David Soman

David Soman illustrates the Ladybug Girl books, which he also writes with his wife, Jacky Davis. He comes from a family of artists and is an instructor at the School of Visual Arts in New York City, as well as at the Mill Street Loft, a non-profit arts education center in the Hudson Valley. He lives with his wife and two kids in upstate New York.show more

Review quote

Praise for The Monster Next Door A Bank Street Best Children's Books of the Year "The notes hit are those in the keys of empathy and diplomacy, ably supported by gentle, mixed-media illustrations . . . Listeners should absorb the book's elegantly executed common sense like a sponge."--Kirkus Reviews "Soman charts the highs and lows of a nascent friendship in this quirky, sensitive story . . . that highlights the value of embracing difference and keeping an open mind." --Publishers Weekly "Kids will relate to the intense emotions of disagreeing with a friend and the simple act of making up once the anger has passed. Great for read-alouds." --School Library Journal "Whimsical [and] relatable." --Minnestota Parent Magazineshow more

Rating details

177 ratings
3.66 out of 5 stars
5 14% (25)
4 42% (75)
3 39% (69)
2 5% (8)
1 0% (0)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X