Mistakes I Made at Work

Mistakes I Made at Work : 25 Influential Women Reflect on What They Got Out of Getting It Wrong

3.66 (923 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?


High-achieving women share their worst mistakes at work and how learning from them paved the way to success.
Named by "Fast Company "as a "Top 10 Book You Need to Read This Year"
In "Mistakes I Made at Work," a Publishers Weekly Top 10 Business Book for Spring 2014, Jessica Bacal interviews twenty-five successful women about their toughest on-the-job moments. These innovators across a variety of fields from the arts to finance to tech reveal that they re more thoughtful, purposeful and assertive as leaders because they learned from their mistakes, not because they never made any. Interviewees include:
Cheryl Strayed, bestselling author of "Wild"Anna Holmes, founding editor of Jezebel.comKim Gordon, founding member of the band Sonic YouthJoanna Barsch, Director Emeritus of McKinsey & CompanyCarol Dweck, Stanford psychology professorRuth Ozeki, "New York Times "bestselling author of "Tale for the Time Being"And many moreFor readers of "Lean In" and "#Girlboss," "Mistakes I Made for Work" is ideal for millenials just starting their careers, for women seeking to advance at work, or for anyone grappling with issues of perfectionism, and features fascinating and surprising anecdotes, as well as tips for readers."
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 252 pages
  • 134 x 202 x 20mm | 200g
  • Penguin Putnam Inc
  • New York, India
  • English
  • 0142180572
  • 9780142180570
  • 151,663

Review quote

Named by "Fast Company "as a "Top 10 Book You Need to Read This Year"
Named by "Publishers Weekly "as a "Top 10 Business/Economics Book for Spring 2014"
This insightful book reminds us that even the women we most admire have dealt with failure. It perfectly captures one of the wisest things my mother ever told me -- that failure isn t the opposite of success, it s a stepping stone to success. Arianna Huffington
As valuable for its wisdom and its advice as it is pure fun to read. Cathy Hanaeur, author of "The Bitch in the House "
Refreshing filled with humor and humiliation, plus loads of hard-earned career management advice. "Elle"
Absorbing a comforting and genuine reminder that everyone makes mistakes. "New York Magazine"
An important book Crucial character boot camp for women everywhere. "The Globe and Mail" praise"
show more

About Jessica Bacal

Jessica Bacal is the director of the Wurtele Center for Work & Life at Smith College. She lives with her husband and two children in Northampton, MA.
show more

Rating details

923 ratings
3.66 out of 5 stars
5 21% (198)
4 36% (328)
3 32% (299)
2 9% (82)
1 2% (16)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X