Miss Kopp Just Won't Quit

Miss Kopp Just Won't Quit

3.95 (2,969 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Expected delivery to the United States in 8-13 business days.


Not ordering to the United States? Click here.

Description

Constance Kopp, America's first female deputy sheriff, is back in another unforgettable romp by HWA-longlisted international bestseller Amy Stewart.



While transporting a woman to an insane asylum, Deputy Kopp discovers something deeply troubling about her story. Before she can investigate, another inmate breaks free and tries to escape.



In both cases, Constance runs instinctively toward justice. But 1916 is a high-stakes US election year, and any move she makes could jeopardise Sheriff Heath's future - and her own. Constance's controversial career makes her the target of political attacks.



With wit and verve, Amy Stewart brilliantly conjures the life and times of the real Constance Kopp and her feisty sisters.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 320 pages
  • 129 x 198 x 19mm | 268g
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 1911617575
  • 9781911617570
  • 385,651

Review quote

'Suspenseful ... boasts a deeper emphasis on character, politics, and social issues. A must for Constance's growing fan base.' STARRED REVIEW * Booklist * 'Stewart's intrepid deputy sheriff is back, this time enmeshed in a 1916 local election with uncomfortable contemporary resonance ... Constance may just have turned 40, but this tough-minded, generous-hearted believer in second chances and equal rights for women looks set for many more adventures. A welcome addition to this sui generis series, always fresh thanks to its vividly imagined characters firmly grounded in historical fact.' STARRED REVIEW * Kirkus * 'This is becoming a terrific historical mystery series.' -- Jon Wise * Weekend Sport * 'Highly engaging without sanitising the attitudes of the times.' * The Herald * 'Historically fascinating and with truculent characters and intrigues, these books are a guilty pleasure for fans of Janet Plum or Maisie Dobbs and deserve a larger audience.' -- Maxim Jakbowski * Crime Time * 'Stewart skillfully builds nail-biting suspense ... The blend of practicality, forthrightness, and compassion in her first-person narration is sure to satisfy series fans and win new admirers.' * Publishers Weekly * 'Miss Kopp Just Won't Quit is everything I look for in solid historical fiction ... Constance Kopp makes a fierce and lively heroine who stands out as a "strong female character" in all the best ways.' -- Dee Carey * Half-deserted Streets * 'The talented author has made a well-researched, rollicking story out of the three of them and Sheriff Heath, so that the reader can experience a flavour of life for women in the early 1900s in New Jersey just before the war.' -- Caitlln Hicks * New York Journal of Books * 'The books are based on actual events with characters and deeds embellished to create marvellous historical novels. The present book finds Constance as both deputy and matron of the female prisoners at the Hackensack county jail in the autumn of 1916. Though she often sleeps at the jail, she still lives on the farm with her sisters ... the novel excels in revisiting a vanished time, place and sensibility.' -- Katherine A. Powers * The Washington Post * 'The fourth, funniest and best of the Miss Kopp books finds Constance Kopp at a crossroads ... Kopp's first-person account is wry and un-self-pitying, despite the long odds she faces both at the job and at home, where her quirky sisters are after her to bring home more money and less notoriety. The novel is more interested in characters than plot but it's great fun - fans of the Maisie Dobbs series will love it - and a timely reminder that women have been fighting the equity battle for generations.' -- Chris Hewitt * Minneapolis Star Tribune *
show more

About Amy Stewart

Amy Stewart is the New York Times bestselling author of nine books, including Girl Waits with Gun and the rest of the Kopp Sisters series, which are based on the true story of one of America's first female deputy sheriffs and her two rambunctious sisters. Her popular non-fiction titles include The Drunken Botanist, Wicked Plants, and Flower Confidential.



She lives in Portland with her husband Scott Brown, a rare book dealer. They own an independent bookstore called Eureka Books, which is so independent that it lives in California while they live in Oregon.
show more

Rating details

2,969 ratings
3.95 out of 5 stars
5 22% (648)
4 53% (1,586)
3 23% (678)
2 2% (47)
1 0% (10)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X