Miss Fortune
21%
off

Miss Fortune : Fresh Perspectives on Having It All from Someone Who Is Not Okay

3.29 (306 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

Los Angeles Times Bestseller For fans of Jenny Lawson, Sarah Colonna, and Lena Dunham, an acutely-observed and hilarious take on what happens when life doesn't end up quite as you'd expected.

"Gloriously smart, deeply funny, and nakedly vulnerable ... I laughed. I cried. I thanked my lucky stars I didn't ever have a threesome with co-workers in the Netherlands. But most of all, I fell in love with Lauren Weedman and the raw and complicated truths she so honestly explores on every page."
--Cheryl Strayed, author of the New York Times bestseller Wild Lauren Weedman is not okay. She's living what should be the good life in sunny Los Angeles. After a gig as a correspondent on The Daily Show with Jon Stewart, she scored parts in blockbuster movies, which led to memorable recurring roles on HBO's Hung and Looking. She had a loving husband and an adorable baby boy. In these comedic essays, Weedman turns a piercingly observant, darkly funny lens on the ways her life is actually Not Okay. She tells the story of her husband's affair with their babysitter, her first and only threesome, a tattoo gone horribly awry, and how the birth of her son caused mama drama with her own mother and birth mother, all with laugh-out-loud wit and a powerful undercurrent of vulnerability that pulls off a stunning balance between comedy and tragedy.
show more

Out of ideas for the holidays?

Visit our Gift Guides and find our recommendations on what to get friends and family during the holiday season. Shop now .

Product details

  • Paperback | 288 pages
  • 135 x 203 x 17.78mm | 224g
  • PLUME
  • United States
  • English
  • 0142180238
  • 9780142180235
  • 1,303,576

Review Text

Los Angeles Times bestseller

"A mix of humor and humanity."-The Oregonian

"I found myself not merely smiling, but cackling - and, in turn, tearing up or sighing with sad recognition... Weedman is skilled at using humor as a way in rather than a diversion. Even and especially at her most hilarious, she's willing to reveal her earnest underbelly."-Los Angeles Review of Books

"Lauren Weedman's Miss Fortune is like a pearl that washed up on a beach full of seaweed, tar balls and plastic six-pack holders. It's a jewel sparkling amid a landscape of literary pollution."-LA Weekly

"Miss Fortune is so gloriously smart, deeply funny, and nakedly vulnerable, I missed it after I finished the last page the way one misses the best friend you ever had after she goes away. Lauren Weedman tells her sexiest, saddest, strangest, sweetest stories with a thrillingly unabashed voice that's as charming as it is insightful. I laughed. I cried. I thanked my lucky stars I didn't ever have a threesome with co-workers in the Netherlands. But most of all, I fell in love with Lauren Weedman and the raw and complicated truths she so honestly explores on every page of this absorbing book."
-Cheryl Strayed, New York Times bestselling author of Wild

"Weedman's charm and self-deprecating humor easily draw the reader in, and her willingness to tangle with hard truths make this a deeply affecting account of salvaging a life from wreckage."
-Publisher's Weekly

"An intelligent, hilarious, and bittersweet collection."
-Kirkus
show more

Review quote

Los Angeles Times bestseller

"A mix of humor and humanity."--The Oregonian "I found myself not merely smiling, but cackling -- and, in turn, tearing up or sighing with sad recognition... Weedman is skilled at using humor as a way in rather than a diversion. Even and especially at her most hilarious, she's willing to reveal her earnest underbelly."--Los Angeles Review of Books "Lauren Weedman's Miss Fortune is like a pearl that washed up on a beach full of seaweed, tar balls and plastic six-pack holders. It's a jewel sparkling amid a landscape of literary pollution."--LA Weekly "Miss Fortune is so gloriously smart, deeply funny, and nakedly vulnerable, I missed it after I finished the last page the way one misses the best friend you ever had after she goes away. Lauren Weedman tells her sexiest, saddest, strangest, sweetest stories with a thrillingly unabashed voice that's as charming as it is insightful. I laughed. I cried. I thanked my lucky stars I didn't ever have a threesome with co-workers in the Netherlands. But most of all, I fell in love with Lauren Weedman and the raw and complicated truths she so honestly explores on every page of this absorbing book."
--Cheryl Strayed, New York Times bestselling author of Wild "Weedman's charm and self-deprecating humor easily draw the reader in, and her willingness to tangle with hard truths make this a deeply affecting account of salvaging a life from wreckage."
--Publisher's Weekly "An intelligent, hilarious, and bittersweet collection."
--Kirkus
show more

About Lauren Weedman

Lauren Weedman is an award-winning comedic actress, playwright and author. Her television credits include The Daily Show, True Blood, United States of Tara, Reno 911, Curb Your Enthusiasm, New Girl, Arrested Development, Horny Patty on HBO's HUNG and Doris on HBO's Looking. Film credits include Imagine That, Date Night and Judd Apatow's A Five Year Engagement. Weedman's first book, A Woman Trapped in a Woman's Body: Tales from a Life of Cringe, was named by Kirkus as a top ten Indie book for 2007. Weedman lives in Santa Monica and is the host of the popular Moth Storytelling series in LA.
show more

Rating details

306 ratings
3.29 out of 5 stars
5 12% (37)
4 29% (90)
3 40% (121)
2 13% (41)
1 6% (17)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X