Mirrorland

Mirrorland

3.61 (8,396 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 
3.61 (8,396 ratings by Goodreads)

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Expected delivery to the United States in 10-15 business days.


Not ordering to the United States? Click here.

Description

"Unnerving." --People
"Unsettling...unlocks its mysteries slowly." --The New York Times Book Review
"A dark, twisty, and richly atmospheric exploration of the power of imagination" --Ruth Ware, author of The Woman in Cabin 10

"Beautifully written and told with a watchmaker's precision" (Stephen King), Mirrorland is a thrilling psychological suspense novel about twin sisters, the man they both love, the house that has always haunted them, and the childhood stories they can't leave behind.

Cat lives in Los Angeles, far from 36 Westeryk Road, the imposing gothic house in Edinburgh where she and her estranged twin sister, El, grew up. As kids, they invented Mirrorland, a dark, imaginary place under the pantry stairs, full of pirates, witches, and clowns. These days, Cat rarely thinks about their childhood home, or the fact that El now lives there with her husband, Ross.

But when El mysteriously disappears after going out on her sailboat, Cat is forced to return to 36 Westeryk Road, which hasn't changed in twenty years. The grand old house is still full of shadowy corners, and at every turn Cat finds herself stumbling on long-held secrets and terrifying ghosts from the past. Because someone--El?--has left Cat clues: a treasure hunt that leads them back to Mirrorland, where the truth lies waiting...

A brilliantly crafted story that "feels like the love child of Gillian Flynn and Stephen King" (Greer Hendricks, #1 New York Times bestselling author), Mirrorland is a propulsive, page-turning debut about love, betrayal, revenge--and the price of freedom.
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 320 pages
  • 157 x 231 x 30mm | 544g
  • English
  • 1982136359
  • 9781982136352
  • 2,754,411

Review quote

"Unnerving." --People

"Unsettling... unlocks its mysteries slowly." --The New York Times Book Review

"A dark, twisty, and richly atmospheric exploration of the power of imagination." --Ruth Ware, author of The Woman in Cabin 10

"I loved Mirrorland. It's dark and devious, a neo-gothic featuring twin sisters and a deeply frightening old dark house. Beautifully written and plotted with a watchmaker's precision." --Stephen King

"Johnstone's debut had me flying through the pages while also wanting to sink into her gorgeous writing. Paired with twists and turns I didn't see coming, readers will certainly be in for tons of surprises." --Buzzfeed

"It's Gone Girl meets Rebecca . . . atmospheric, tightly plotted and utterly gripping, a must read for fans of Ruth Ware and Gillian Flynn." --Sarah Pinborough, author of Behind Her Eyes
show more

About Carole Johnstone

Carole Johnstone's award-winning short fiction has appeared in annual "Best of" anthologies in the United States and United Kingdom. She lives with her husband in an old farmhouse outside Glasgow, Scotland, though her heart belongs to the sea and the wild islands of the Hebrides. She is the author of Mirrorland and The Blackhouse.
show more

Rating details

8,396 ratings
3.61 out of 5 stars
5 21% (1,748)
4 37% (3,073)
3 29% (2,456)
2 10% (808)
1 4% (311)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X