Mirka Andolfo's Mercy: The Fair Lady, The Frost, and The Fiend

Mirka Andolfo's Mercy: The Fair Lady, The Frost, and The Fiend

3.67 (469 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Expected delivery to the United States in 7-12 business days.


Not ordering to the United States? Click here.

Description

MERCY, a goth-inspired, Victorian monster
series explores topics of "otherness," damnation and redemption, and
what it means to be a monster in a horror graphic novel perfect for fans of
Penny Dreadful, Crimson Peak, The Alienist, Parasol Protectorate, and Dark
Shadows.

This new graphic novel by acclaimed
creator MIRKA ANDOLFO (UNNATURAL) is a gothic horror tale where mysteries
and unspeakable sins are blended together in a unique and sensual way.


Washington State, late nineteenth century.
During the frenzied historical era commonly known as the Klondike Gold Rush, a
mysterious woman arrives in Woodsburgh, a small mining town close to the
Canadian border.

It's been a few years since
the Swanson mine was closed following the terrible accident that claimed the
lives of so many men and women, including the owner's and the city it's still
struggling in search for a new place on the map of the country.


Elegant and extraordinarily wealthy, Lady
Hellaine arrives in the city accompanied by her faithful butler Goodwill and
settles in one of the most luxurious mansions in town. A lifestyle that
contrasts sharply with that of the majority of the population, forced to choose
between humble crafts and illegal
activities.

No one is aware of the reasons
that led such a classy lady to move from Seattle to the small village, but her
arrival certainly did not go unnoticed. Especially in the eyes of Lady Swanson,
widow of the late mine owner and leading figure of the local bourgeoisie. Lady
Hellaine's plans will bring her on a collision course with the powerful Lady
Swanson, who, for reasons not entirely rational, distrusts the
newcomer.

Meanwhile, the streets and
surroundings of Woodsburgh are flooded in blood: a heinous creature is killing
incautious citizens, wreaking havoc on their bodies. Enough to induce local
authorities to impose a strict curfew after
sunset.

And with the falling of the first
snow, the "Woodsburgh Devil"'s fury seems to have even increased.
What's the connection, if any, between this disturbing presence and the
ivory-skinned stranger?

Who is Lady Hellaine,
really? And what's her secret agenda?


Collects MIRKA ANDOLFO'S MERCY
#1-6
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 192 pages
  • 165 x 251 x 13mm | 399g
  • Fullerton, United States
  • English
  • 1534316582
  • 9781534316584
  • 18,481

Review quote

PUBLISHERS WEEKLY --
Andolfo starts slow but builds to a
satisfying crescendo of Lovecraftian horror in this lavishly illustrated graphic
novel. A small 19th-century mining town is visited by the mysterious Nolwenn
Hellaine, a beautiful woman curious about local legends of the "Devil of
Woodsburgh." Gradually, the townspeople discover that Lady Hellaine and
her faithful retainer are otherworldly monsters who need to feed on human brains
to survive. The early chapters are a slow burn as Andolfo takes time to
introduce his sizable cast of characters, but once the action kicks in, it
becomes a thrill ride rife with sex, gore, and cosmic horror, not to mention
wild-card elements like an Indigenous monster-hunting squad that shows up
looking for Lady Hellaine. The art is almost too sleek and glossy for a horror
story, but succeeds with attractive, expressive characters, detailed period
settings, and, when the story heats up, twisted shape-shifting monsters and
gruesome violence. The result is a stylish chiller sure to please genre fans.
(Dec.)
show more

Rating details

469 ratings
3.67 out of 5 stars
5 19% (89)
4 42% (197)
3 27% (126)
2 11% (52)
1 1% (5)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X