Minnesota, Montana, North Dakota, South Dakota

Minnesota, Montana, North Dakota, South Dakota

By (author) 

List price: US$22.39

Currently unavailable

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks


This historic book may have numerous typos and missing text. Purchasers can usually download a free scanned copy of the original book (without typos) from the publisher. Not indexed. Not illustrated. 1904 edition. Excerpt: ...west of the Missouri river. While governor, he influenced the legislature of Dakota to memorialize congress in favor of acquiring the Black Hills country and opening it to white settlers. In 1869 he was succeeded by Governor Burbank. After retiring from the office of governor, he served as a member of the board of aldermen and mayor of Yankton, clerk of the United States courts, United States court commissioner, and for a number of years was president of the Dakota Bar Association. Vith the incoming of Governor Faulk's administration, several changes were made in the subordinate offices of the Territory. George H. Hand was appointed United States district attorney for Dakota; William Tripp was appointed surveyor general in place of Gen. George D. Hill who resigned; /Villiam Shriner, of Clay county, was made collector of United States internal revenue for the district of Dakota; Edward C. Collins, of Union county, was appointed assessor, and A. L. Edwards, of Yankton, was appointed assistant assessor. This was the first year that internal revenue taxes were collected in the Territory of Dakota. In the election this year, for delegate to congress, 846 votes were polled, an increase of nearly-forty per cent over the vote of 1864. Dr. Walter A. Burleigh was nominated for re-election, on what was called a "Johnson" platform, and W. W., Brookings was nominated on a "straight Republican" platform to oppose him. There ensued a spirited campaign which resulted in the re-election of Doctor Burleigh, by a vote of 592 to 254. In the legislature this year Moses K. Armstrong was elected president of the council, and B. M. Smith, secretary. Capt J. B. S. Todd was chosen speaker of the house and F. Vixson, chief clerk....show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 194 pages
  • 189 x 246 x 10mm | 354g
  • Rarebooksclub.com
  • United States
  • English
  • black & white illustrations
  • 1236920201
  • 9781236920201