A Million Reasons Why
8%
off

A Million Reasons Why : A Novel

3.81 (3,003 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Expected delivery to the United States in 8-13 business days.


Not ordering to the United States? Click here.

Description

But as they step into the unfamiliar realm of sisterhood, the roles will reverse in ways no one could have foreseen.

Caroline lives a full, happy life - thriving career, three feisty children, enviable marriage, and a close-knit extended family. She couldn't have scripted it better. Except for one thing:

She's about to discover her fundamental beliefs about them all are wrong.

Sela lives a life in shades of gray, suffering from irreversible kidney failure. Her marriage crumbled in the wake of her illness. Her beloved mother, always her closest friend, unexpectedly passed away. She refuses to be defined by her grief, but still, she worries what will happen to her two-year-old son if she doesn't find a donor match in time.

She's the only one who knows Caroline is her half sister and may also be her best hope for a future. But Sela's world isn't as clear-cut as it appears - and one misstep could destroy it all.
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 368 pages
  • 166 x 243 x 35mm | 536g
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • 1250241626
  • 9781250241627
  • 1,669,389

Review quote

"A MILLION REASONS WHY is a fascinating foray into the questions we are most afraid to ask: what constitutes family, what are our obligations to those we love, where does American healthcare fail the most, what secrets are unforgivable? And in case you need another reason to read this book: there are two massive twists you'll never see coming." - Jodi Picoult, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Small Great Things and A Spark Of Light

Don't miss this searching, fraught family drama by a master of her craft. Jessica Stawser gives us a twisty plot, combined with deeply emotional content, in a novel that examines the most profound questions of our hearts. This is a story that will stay in your heart long after the last page is turned. - #1 New York Times Bestselling Author Susan Wiggs

From the opening line to the heart-healing ending, A Million Reasons Why is an immersive and startling novel of great compassion with plot twists that will take your breath away. When all we know is turned upside down and inside out, who do we become? Strawser isn't afraid of the bigger questions and this beautiful exploration of family, loyalty and love will both break and heal your heart. Powerful, poignant and profound -- don't miss this compelling novel from a master storyteller. - New York Times bestselling author Patti Callahan Henry

"A MILLION REASONS WHY is the emotionally gripping story of two half-sisters, each with her own secrets, who find each other as adults. It's deftly paced and surprising, and Strawser's characters are so layered and flawed and human that I came to care about them deeply. Heartbreaking yet hopeful, this astute exploration of the bonds and limitations of family is a perfect book club pick." - New York Times bestselling author Joshilyn Jackson

"A MILLION REASONS WHY is a heartbreaking, absorbing story with an irresistible premise: a random DNA test reveals you have a sister you've always wanted, a potential life-saver. Strawser skillfully explores what it means to be family, to rethink the pivotal hinge points in a person's life." - Angie Kim, bestselling author of Miracle Creek

A powerful and poignant tale with characters that burrowed their way into my heart and will stay with me for a long time. --Colleen Oakley, bestselling author of You Were There Too

Strawser once again displays her nuanced understanding of all the corners of the human heart. -- Sonja Yoerg, Washington Post bestselling author of True Places and Stories We Never Told

Through richly drawn characters and a few satisfying plot twists, Strawser handles difficult questions with thoughtful, page-turning prose. A must-read! --Susan Gloss, USA Today bestselling author of Vintage

A standout novel... seamless writing style, complex characters, and layered plot. The high concept will attract book groups and fans of Jodi Picoult. - Booklist, Starred Review

This emotional family and medical drama from Strawser will appeal to fans of Jodi Picoult and Liane Moriarty. - Library Journal

Riveting...a provocative family tale. - Publishers Weekly

A thrilling story of what happens when a long-held family secret comes to light...[Strawser] shows that no one is ever truly a villain or a hero, but instead, we are all a beautiful and messy mix of both. - Associated Press review

A compulsively readable slow-burn that is sure to touch the heart of everyone who reads it. - Booktrib
show more

About Jessica Strawser

JESSICA STRAWSER is the editorial director of Writer's Digest magazine and the author of Almost Missed You, named to Barnes & Noble's Best New Fiction list for March 2017 and PopSugar's Best Spring Reads. She has written for The New York Times Modern Love, Publishers Weekly and other fine venues, and lives with her husband and two children in Cincinnati.
show more

Rating details

3,003 ratings
3.81 out of 5 stars
5 24% (713)
4 42% (1,260)
3 27% (801)
2 6% (193)
1 1% (36)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X