The Memory Thief
17%
off

The Memory Thief

3.27 (315 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

In the realms of The Memory Thief, memories are currency that can be traded for goods, services, skills, and experiences. A group of people-the Gifted-can steal and redistribute memories. Etta is secretly one of them, but she hasn't used her Gifted abilities since she left the rebel Shadows following her mother's accident two years ago. But when her mother is again in danger, Etta has no choice but to return to the underground group in order to complete her greatest heist and save her mother's life. Etta faces startling attacks, unexpected romance, and above all, her own past as she uncovers a conspiracy that challenges everything she knew about herself and the world around her.

In a place where nothing is what it seems, can Etta ever become more than a memory thief?

"Readers, like Etta and her fellow citizens, will be challenged to contemplate the nature of truth ... A welcome addition to the YA fantasy canon, The Memory Thief is a suspenseful page-turner, delightfully chock full of unexpected twists and turns." - Shelf Awareness

The Memory Thief:



Is perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Victoria Aveyard
Brings readers on an unforgettable journey during which Etta must learn-often the hard way-just what it will take to save her city and her mother
Is a clean, coming of age YA fantasy, with unexpected romance by up-and-coming author Lauren Mansy
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 320 pages
  • 147 x 221 x 25mm | 408.23g
  • Blink
  • Grand Rapids, United States
  • English
  • 0310767652
  • 9780310767657
  • 98,773

Review quote

A thought-provoking and unique YA fantasy, THE MEMORY THIEF is a engrossing and lovely story. Twists and turns keep the reader guessing as they follow Etta on her physical and mental journey. * YA and Kids Books Central * As evidenced by 'The Memory Thief', author Lauren Mansy has a genuine talent for narrative storytelling and an authentic flair for originality. A riveting great read with more plot twists and turns than a Disney Land roller coaster, 'The Memory Thief' will prove to be an immediate and enduringly popular addition to school and community library YA Fiction and amp; Fantasy Fiction collections. * Midwest Book Review * A compelling, darkly fantastic tale ... Though Mansy builds an expansive fantasy world all her own, her tale uses dystopian motifs to great success, such as the corrosive effects of an overabundance of power falling into the wrong hands and her stern commentary on the divide between the haves and have-nots. Readers, like Etta and her fellow citizens, will be challenged to contemplate the nature of truth, considering the unique role that memories play in the Realms. Mansy also delivers a fine romance, made all the more gratifying by the difficulties sustained along the way. A welcome addition to the YA fantasy canon, The Memory Thief is a suspenseful page-turner, delightfully chock full of unexpected twists and turns. * Shelf Awareness * The Memory Thief is fast paced and didn't stop for one second...This book is perfect for people who are looking for a quick unique fantasy novel that is also a stand alone! * The Book Bratz * Mansy's debut will delight fantasy readers who revel in fully developed settings and unusual powers. * Booklist *
show more

About Lauren Mansy

Lauren Mansy grew up in the Chicago area, where she spent years working with youth of all ages, from young children to high schoolers. When she's not writing, Lauren loves to travel, spend time with her family, and explore the city to find the best deep dish pizza. The Memory Thief, which was inspired by Lauren's own journey with her mother, is her first novel. You can visit her online at laurenmansy.com.
show more

Rating details

315 ratings
3.27 out of 5 stars
5 13% (42)
4 28% (89)
3 36% (113)
2 18% (57)
1 4% (14)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X