The Memory of Forgotten Things

The Memory of Forgotten Things

3.81 (143 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 4 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

"A heart-tugging and mind-bending exploration of time and possibility." --School Library Journal
"A pleasure to read...full of heart and imagination." --Kirkus Reviews
"Zhang's story is filled with real-world lessons on compassion and kindness with a sci-fi twist--a skillfully rendered framing device for exploring deeper issues of loss, longing, and acceptance." --Publishers Weekly
"With unwavering hope and focus, and new friendships with unlikely peers, the novel is entertaining and sweet." --Booklist In the tradition of The Thing About Jellyfish and When You Reach Me, acclaimed author Kat Zhang offers a luminous and heartbreaking novel about a girl who is convinced that an upcoming solar eclipse will bring back her dead mother. One of the happiest memories twelve-year-old Sophia Wallace has is of her tenth birthday. Her mother made her a cake that year--and not a cake from a boxed-mix, but from scratch. She remembers the way the frosting tasted, the way the pink sugar roses dissolved on her tongue. This memory, and a scant few others like it, is all Sophia has of her mother, so she keeps them close. She keeps them secret, too. Because as paltry as these memories are, she shouldn't have them at all. The truth is, Sophia Wallace's mother died when she was six years old. But that isn't how she remembers it. Not always. Sophia has never told anyone about her unusual memories--snapshots of a past that never happened. But everything changes when Sophia's seventh grade English class gets an assignment to research solar eclipses. She becomes convinced that the upcoming solar eclipse will grant her the opportunity to make her alternate life come true, to enter a world where her mother never died. With the help of two misfit boys, she must figure out a way to bring her mother back to her--before the opportunity is lost forever.
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 288 pages
  • 140 x 211 x 28mm | 363g
  • English
  • 1481478656
  • 9781481478656
  • 54,957

Review quote

"A heart-tugging and mind-bending exploration of time and possibility." --School Library Journal "A pleasure to read . . . full of heart and imagination." --Kirkus Reviews "Zhang's story is filled with real-world lessons on compassion and kindness with a sci-fi twist--a skillfully rendered framing device for exploring deeper issues of loss, longing, and acceptance." --Publishers Weekly "With unwavering hope and focus, and new friendships with unlikely peers, the novel is entertaining and sweet." --Booklist
show more

Rating details

143 ratings
3.81 out of 5 stars
5 25% (36)
4 36% (52)
3 34% (48)
2 5% (7)
1 0% (0)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X