A Memory Called Empire
9%
off

A Memory Called Empire : Winner of the 2020 Hugo Award for Best Novel

4.15 (14,530 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

Winner of the 2020 Hugo Award for Best Novel

Arkady Martine's A Memory Called Empire is one of the hottest science fiction debuts around. For those who loved Ann Leckie's epic space opera Ancillary Justice, Tamsyn Muir's Gideon the Ninth and Iain M. Banks's Culture novels.

Shortlisted for the 2020 Arthur C. Clarke Award.
Shortlisted for the 2019 Goodreads Choice Awards.

In a war of lies she seeks the truth . . .

Ambassador Mahit Dzmare travels to the Teixcalaanli Empire's interstellar capital, eager to take up her new post. Yet when she arrives, she discovers her predecessor was murdered. But no one will admit his death wasn't accidental - and she might be next.

Now Mahit must navigate the capital's enticing yet deadly halls of power, to discover dangerous truths. And while she hunts for the killer, Mahit must somehow prevent the rapacious Empire from annexing her home: a small, fiercely independent mining station.

As she sinks deeper into an alien culture that is all too seductive, Mahit engages in intrigues of her own. For she's hiding an extraordinary technological secret, one which might destroy her station and its way of life. Or it might save them from annihilation.

A Memory Called Empire is followed by A Desolation Called Peace in the Teixcalaan duology.

'A Memory Called Empire perfectly balances action and intrigue with matters of empire and identity. All-round brilliant space opera, I absolutely loved it' - Ann Leckie, author of Ancillary Justice

'Contender for debut of the year' - SFX Magazine
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 464 pages
  • 131 x 198 x 30mm | 340g
  • Tor
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 1529001595
  • 9781529001594
  • 2,106

Review quote

Gorgeously crafted . . . Martine allows the backstory to unroll slowly . . . walking delicately upon the tightrope of intrigue and partisan battles in the streets to safely bring the tale to a poignantly true conclusion. Readers will eagerly await the planned sequels to this impressive debut -- Publishers Weekly starred review Arkady Martine's first novel is a thrillingly smart space opera with grand scope. Everything's here: plots and counterplots, political manoeuvring, great writing, and brilliant ideas on language and empire. Like Iain M. Banks, she's created a universe that can spawn a hundred books. Hop on now, people -- Daryl Gregory Exquisite and smart as hell -- Fran Wilde A Memory Called Empire is both deeply thought-provoking and thoroughly entertaining . . . I can't wait to find out what happens next -- James Oswald A Memory Called Empire is a murder mystery wrapped up in a political space opera, and deeply immerses the reader in a unique culture and society. I very much enjoyed it and look forward to what Martine does next -- Martha Wells In A Memory Called Empire Arkady Martine smuggles you into her interstellar diplomatic pouch, and takes you on the most thrilling ride ever. This book has everything I love: identity crises, unlikely romance, complicated politics, and cunning adventurers. Super-fun, and ultra-fascinating -- Charlie Jane Anders A cunningly plotted, richly imagined tale of interstellar intrigue that does something new with space opera -- Ken MacLeod An exceptional first novel recommended for fans of Cherryh, Leckie, Banks, and Asimov -- Elizabeth Bear An elegant and accomplished example of the subgenre of subtle scheming with a background of stars. A delightful read. I couldn't put it down -- Jo Walton An intricate, layered tale of empire, personal ambition, political obligations and interstellar intrigue. Vivid and delightfully inventive -- Aliette de Bodard A cutting, beautiful, human adventure about cultural exchange, identity, and intrigue. The best SF novel I've read in the last five years -- Yoon Ha Lee Arkady is one of the best new voices in speculative fiction -- Adrian Tchaikovsky A Memory Called Empire perfectly balances action and intrigue with matters of empire and identity. All-round brilliant space opera, I absolutely loved it -- Ann Leckie Stunning sci-fi debut. An ambassador from a small space station has to survive in the capital of a galactic empire where everyone seems to want her dead. Add in a great will-they-won't-they wlw romantic interest. Awesome -- Rick Riordan
show more

About Arkady Martine

Arkady Martine is a speculative fiction writer and, as Dr AnnaLinden Weller, a historian of the Byzantine Empire and an apprentice city planner. Under both names she writes about border politics, rhetoric, propaganda and the edges of the world. Arkady grew up in New York City and, after some time in Turkey, Canada and Sweden, lives in Baltimore with her wife, the author Vivian Shaw. A Memory Called Empire is her debut novel, which is followed by A Desolation Called Peace.
show more

Rating details

14,530 ratings
4.15 out of 5 stars
5 42% (6,068)
4 39% (5,698)
3 14% (1,991)
2 4% (537)
1 2% (236)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X