The Mechanical
15%
off

The Mechanical : Book One of the Alchemy Wars

3.96 (5,487 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

My name is Jax.

That is the name granted to me by my human masters.

I am a slave.

But I shall be free.

Set in a world that might have been, of mechanical men and alchemical dreams, the new novel from Ian Tregillis confirms his place as one of the most original new voices in speculative fiction.

PRAISE FOR IAN TREGILLIS

'A major new talent' GEORGE R. R. MARTIN

'Tremendous' Cory Doctorow

'Addictively brilliant' i09

'Exciting and intense' Publishers Weekly

'Eloquent and utterly compelling' Kirkus
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 480 pages
  • 129 x 196 x 32mm | 340g
  • Orbit
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 0356502325
  • 9780356502328
  • 72,778

Review quote

A fascinating world * ScifiNow * The Mechanical is as intricate and exquisite as the clockwork wonders it brings to life * NPR * Tregillis never fails to impress, and his writing and stories seem to be getting better with each novel. This book is truly unlike anything I've ever read before, and it's my favorite work of his to date. I can't wait to see what the next installment in The Alchemy Wars will bring. * BIBLIOSANCTUM * In the tradition of Isaac Asimov, Tregillis's latest novel combines classic robotics with historical fiction to riveting ends . . . The story manages to posit broad questions, such as how one defines humanity and free will, without coming across as sanctimonious or treacly. It's also just plain exciting, with intense fight scenes and exhilarating narrow escapes. Readers will no doubt be rooting for the 'rogue' robots. * RT Book Reviews * His characters are as convincing as ever, the plotting is beautifully articulated . . . readers with an interest in dark, intelligent fantasy will find much to admire here * KIRKUS * With The Mechanical Tregillis displays the craftsmanship and precision of a master clockmaker . . . [He] skilfully portrays characters that are as compelling and sympathetic as they are flawed and conflicted . . . I would recommend The Mechanical to any reader with an interest in well-written and engaging fantasy story set in an elegantly constructed alternate history * SFFworld * Tregillis presents a fascinating look at the nature of free will and the existence of the soul, wrapped up in an absolutely thrilling adventure story. Jax is an amazing, sympathetic character, and the world of the clockmakers and their slaves is so absorbing that readers will be dying for the next entry in this new series * Library Journal * A multi-layered literary confection . . . tight and well constructed, and an absolute pleasure to read . . . absolutely fascinating, and unapologetically clever * Sci-Fi and Fantasy Reviews * A hugely entertaining novel * SFX * Tregillis launches a series with this superb alternate history filled with clockwork men and ethical questions on the nature of free will . . . Tregillis's complex setting is elegantly delivered, and the rich characters and gripping story really make this tale soar * Publishers Weekly * One of the sharpest, most intelligent, hugely compelling works I've read this year, and I cannot wait to see where Tregillis takes this series next * Forbidden Planet International * The first thing readers will say after finishing this splendid book is: "Wow." The second thing will probably be: "When can I read the next one? . . . This is a rousing SF/fantasy adventure, with a brilliantly imagined and beautifully rendered alternate world * BOOKLIST *
show more

About Ian Tregillis

Ian Tregillis is the son of a bearded mountebank and a discredited tarot card reader. He was born and raised in Minnesota, where his parents had landed after fleeing the wrath of a Flemish prince. (The full story, he's told, involves a Dutch tramp steamer and a stolen horse.) Nowadays he lives in New Mexico, where he consorts with writers, scientists and other unsavoury types.
show more

Rating details

5,487 ratings
3.96 out of 5 stars
5 30% (1,637)
4 45% (2,487)
3 18% (998)
2 5% (282)
1 2% (83)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X