A Mathematician Plays the Stock Market
44%
off

A Mathematician Plays the Stock Market

3.43 (504 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

In A Mathematician Plays the Stock Market best-selling author John Allen Paulos demonstrates what the tools of mathematics can tell us about the vagaries of the stock market. Employing his trademark stories, vignettes, paradoxes, and puzzles (and even a film treatment), Paulos addresses every thinking reader's curiosity about the market: Is it efficient? Is it rational? Is there anything to technical analysis, fundamental analysis, and other supposedly time-tested methods of picking stocks? How can one quantify risk? What are the most common scams? What light do fractals, network theory, and common psychological foibles shed on investor behaviour? Are there any approaches to investing that truly outperform the major indexes? Can a deeper knowledge of mathematics help beat the odds?All of these questions are explored with the engaging erudition that made Paulos's A Mathematician Reads the Newspaper and Innumeracy favourites with both armchair mathematicians and readers who want to think like them. Paulos also shares the cautionary tale of his own long and disastrous love affair with WorldCom.In the tradition of Burton Malkiel's A Random Walk Down Wall Street and Jeremy Siegel's Stocks for the Long Run , this wry and illuminating book is for anyone, investor or not, who follows the markets-or knows someone who does.show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 224 pages
  • 134.62 x 200.66 x 15.24mm | 249.47g
  • The Perseus Books Group
  • BASIC BOOKS
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • Revised ed.
  • black & white illustrations
  • 0465054811
  • 9780465054817
  • 227,363

Review quote

"With accustomed humor and apt examples, Paulos tackles complex computations that are vaguely understood and frequently misapplied by Wall Street pros."show more

About John Allen Paulos

John Allen Paulos received his Ph.D. in mathematics from the University of Wisconsin and is professor of mathematics at Temple University. Dr. Paulos has written a number of scholarly papers on mathematical logic, probability, and the philosophy of science. He is also the author of Innumeracy: Mathematical Illiteracy and Its Consequences, Beyond Numeracy: Ruminations of a Numbers Man, Mathematics and humour, and A Mathematician Reads the Newspaper. He lives in Philadelphia with his wife and two children.show more

Rating details

504 ratings
3.43 out of 5 stars
5 15% (78)
4 34% (171)
3 33% (168)
2 13% (67)
1 4% (20)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X