The Matchmaker
63%
off

The Matchmaker : The feel-good rom-com of 2020 for fans of TV show First Dates!

3.45 (157 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 
Free delivery worldwide Expected delivery to the United States in 7-10 business days.
Not ordering to the United States? Click here.
Order now for expected delivery to the United States by Christmas Order now for expected delivery to the United States by Christmas

Description

'I thoroughly enjoyed this smart, feel-good read. It's witty, sharp and has real depth to it.' - BETH O'LEARY, bestselling author of The Flatshare

For Caitlin Carter, love means business.

She's taken matchmaking back to basics. There is no swiping left. No creepy location tracker. Definitely no unsolicited pics of areas of the anatomy no one wants to see.

She's made dating great again: personal, patient... and profitable. Her startup is going from strength to strength, with clients wanting to find the love she has with her own husband Harry, and she even has celebrities wanting to use her services...

Caitlin is living the perfect life.

Except it's all a perfect lie. And Caitlin doesn't know how long she can keep it up.

An emotionally charged, funny and warm novel, perfect for fans of THE MAN WHO DIDN'T CALL by Rosie Walsh, SOME KIND OF WONDERFUL by Giovanna Fletcher and IF I NEVER MET YOU by Mhairi McFarlane.

'I absolutely adored The Matchmaker - It's such a skilful, nuanced and thoughtful exploration of the full complexities of love - and the way that all of the different people who love us make us who we are. It's refreshing, uplifting and brilliantly observed.' - Daisy Buchanan

'I had to stop reading this in public as it made me cry twice and laugh hysterically numerous times!' - Amazon reviewer, 5 stars
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 320 pages
  • 126 x 196 x 24mm | 220g
  • Trapeze
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 140918837X
  • 9781409188377
  • 918,736

Review quote

I thoroughly enjoyed this smart, feel-good read. It's witty, sharp and has real depth to it, and I love that even though it's uplifting, it doesn't ever shy away from the realities of life. -- Beth O'Leary, bestselling author of The Flatshare I absolutely adored The Matchmaker. It's such a skilful, nuanced and thoughtful exploration of the full complexities of love - and the way that all of the different people who love us make us who we are. It's refreshing, uplifting and brilliantly observed, it's a very smart look at how Millennials have grown up and the impact our obsession with perfection has had on our lives. -- Daisy Buchanan I absolutely loved The Matchmaker. It completely swept me away. It is fun, hopeful and heartbreaking, and I cried more than once! -- Lia Louis, author of Somewhere Close to Happy Funny, sad and painfully relatable, The Matchmaker is a gorgeously written tale for our times about finding love and losing it, and keeping up appearances. Catriona's writing is full of heart and soul, and I can't wait to see what she does next. -- Stacey Halls, bestselling author of The Familiars A fresh, funny and clever read -- Gillian McAllister A witty, wise story about accepting your own reality * Woman & Home * Full of fun, laughter and sucker-punch emotion, we guarantee you'll fall in love with this brilliant debut * Fabulous, Sun on Sunday * ...there is real emotional depth in this uplifting and deceptively thoughtful meditation on love and friendship. * Sunday Mirror * This is a wise, witty and emotionally-charged story about the complexities of love, loss, isolation and loneliness. It'll make you laugh, cry and feel grateful for the people you care about most * Heat * A tear-jerker of a read * BELLA *
show more

About Catriona Innes

Catriona Innes is currently Features Director at Cosmopolitan where, in the name of investigative journalism, she has joined an undercover police force, worked as a Playboy Bunny croupier and - for one night only - performed a stand-up set with just two hours practice. When she's not trying on other careers for size, she edits, writes and commissions the award-winning features section of the magazine. Originally from Edinburgh she now lives in London with her husband and cat.
show more

Rating details

157 ratings
3.45 out of 5 stars
5 13% (20)
4 36% (56)
3 39% (62)
2 8% (13)
1 4% (6)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X