A Match Made in Mehendi

A Match Made in Mehendi

4.12 (65 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

Fifteen-year-old Simran "Simi" Sangha comes from a long line of Indian vichole--matchmakers--with a rich history for helping parents find good matches for their grown children. When Simi accidentally sets up her cousin and a wealthy local businessman, her family is thrilled that she has the "gift."

But Simi is an artist, and she doesn't want to have anything to do with relationships, helicopter parents, and family drama. That is, until she realizes this might just be the thing to get her and her best friend Noah to finally be popular. Armed with her family's ancient guide to finding love, Simi starts a matchmaking service--via an app, of course.

But when she helps connect a wallflower of a girl with the star of the boy's soccer team, she turns the high school hierarchy topsy-turvy, soon making herself public enemy number one.
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 320 pages
  • 144 x 212 x 30mm | 440g
  • Little, Brown Young Readers
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • 0316522589
  • 9780316522588
  • 1,096,401

Review quote

"Bajpai creates a strong, sympathetic portrayal of Simi and her close-knit Indian American family. Many readers will enjoy this engaging first-person narrative, which ends with a promising romance."--Booklist * "A rousing story that is as enjoyable as it is heartfelt. [Nandini] Bajpai creates a memorable character in Simi, who shines at the center of the matchmaking web as she narrates this winning romance."--Publishers Weekly, starred review "Fans of Sandhya Menon's When Dimple Met Rishi and Tanuja Desai Hidier's Born Confused will enjoy this feel-good story."--School Library Journal "Simi is confident, principled, and unapologetic, and her voice glitters with optimism and honesty. A sweet and quirky romance told by a protagonist who will steal readers' hearts."--Kirkus Reviews
show more

About Nandini Bajpai

Nandini Bajpai grew up in New Delhi, India, before settling in the Boston area with her husband, kids, and a fluctuating number and variety of pets. She has published a YA novel, Red Turban White Horse, with Scholastic India. A Match Made in Mehendi would be her U.S. debut.
show more

Rating details

65 ratings
4.12 out of 5 stars
5 37% (24)
4 43% (28)
3 15% (10)
2 5% (3)
1 0% (0)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X