Master of One

Master of One

3.75 (2,095 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author)  , By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Expected delivery to the United States in 7-12 business days.


Not ordering to the United States? Click here.

Description

Sinister sorcery. Gallows humor. A queer romance so glorious it could be right out of fae legend itself. Master of One is a fantasy unlike any other.

Rags the thief has never met a pocket he couldn't pick, but when he's captured by a sorcerer with world-ending plans, he realizes even he is in over his head. Forced to use his finely honed skills to nab pieces of an ancient fae relic, Rags is stunned to discover that those "relics" just happen to be people:

A distractingly handsome Fae prince,

A too-honorable Queensguard deserter,

A scrappy daughter of a disgraced noble family,

A deceptively sweet-natured prince,

A bona fide member of the Resistance,

And him. Rags.

They may all be captives in the sorcerer's terrible scheme, but that won't stop them from fighting back. And, sure, six unexpected allies against one wicked enemy doesn't make for generous odds, but lucky for him, Rag's not generous-he's smart. And he has a plan that just might get them out of this alive.

With the heist and intrigue of Six of Crows and the dark fairy tale feel of The Cruel Prince, this young adult fantasy debut will have readers rooting for a pair of reluctant heroes as they take on a world-ending fae prophecy, a malicious royal plot, and, most dangerously of all, their feelings for each other.
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 544 pages
  • 140 x 210 x 41mm | 588g
  • Harperteen
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • 0062941445
  • 9780062941442
  • 13,527

Review quote

"By the end, readers will be itching for more... A captivating and satisfying queer fantasy." -- Kirkus Reviews "Dazzling and creative... This sterling start to a high fantasy series features creative world-building, nuanced and witty characters, good versus evil, a perilous quest, and a touch of romance for both queer and straight characters. Recommended for most fantasy lovers." -- School Library Journal "Masters of character-driven stories, Jones and Bennett yet again deliver with a foul-mouthed thief, an enchanting fae prince, a headstrong woman, and an ex-Queensguard, to name only a few...Though the dreamy fae-mortal romance doesn't flourish until the latter half, fans of the authors will happily subsist on the story's consistent sharp-witted voice alone." -- Booklist "Classic YA fantasy tropes break into a fast-paced fantasy revolution whose heart, grit, and consequences are more than the sum of its parts... A smart, stakes-loaded LGBTQ fantasy well worth sticking with, for fans of Six of Crows and Megan Whalen Turner." -- Publishers Weekly Praise for Jaida Jones and Danielle Bennett: "Havemercy is an absolute charmer of a book: at once exciting, romantic, and funny." -- Peter S. Beagle, author of The Last Unicorn "These ladies write like a house on fire, delivering fantasy's most pleasant surprise since Temeraire himself took wing in 2006...An impressive debut." -- SFReviews.net "Delicious! The characters are unique, entrancing and believable: dinner-party guests you never want to see go home. I will gladly walk again in this city, now that I know my way around." -- Ellen Kushner, author of The Privilege of the Sword "A dazzling cast memorable characters! Havemercy is a wonderful debut from two talented new authors." -- Lynn Flewelling, author of Shadows Return "[The authors] vividly convey the testosterone-saturated world of fantasy fighter pilots in this fast-paced debut." -- Publishers Weekly
show more

About Jaida Jones

Jaida Jones and Danielle Bennett are married co-authors (without wanting to divorce yet) who live in a haunted Brooklyn brownstone with 8 cats, two parents, and one grandparent. Danielle spent her wild youth in the PNW, learning to climb trees in the local cemetery and reading through every family dinner, school day, and summer vacation. She knows how to ride a horse but not how to drive a car. Jaida is a native New Yorker who spends too much time on Instagram and is currently passionate about tattoos, animal rescue, and slow fashion. Their published work includes four novels from the Volstovic Cycle, in addition to their many twitter rants on intersectional feminism and the NYC subway system. Master of One is their young adult debut, and you can find them at jonesandbennett.com.
show more

Rating details

2,095 ratings
3.75 out of 5 stars
5 26% (548)
4 37% (784)
3 24% (501)
2 10% (206)
1 3% (56)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X