Masculinities in Contemporary American Culture

Masculinities in Contemporary American Culture : An Intersectional Approach to the Complexities and Challenges of Male Identity

4 (1 rating by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

Masculinities in Contemporary American Culture offers readers a multidisciplinary, intersectional overview of masculinity studies that includes both theoretical and applied lenses. Keith combines current research with historical perspectives to demonstrate the contexts in which masculine identities have come evolved. With an emphasis on popular culture -- particularly film, TV, video games, and music -- this text invites students to examine their gendered sensibilities and discuss the ways in which different forms of media appeal to toxic masculinity.show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 443 pages
  • 178 x 254 x 33.02mm | 816.47g
  • Taylor & Francis Ltd
  • ROUTLEDGE
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 200 black & white illustrations, 5 black & white tables, 196 black & white halftones, 4 black & white line drawings
  • 1138818070
  • 9781138818071
  • 1,774,790

Review quote

Dr. Thomas Keith's new book is proof that there are a numerous amount of innovative ways to engage traditional material. In the tradition of James Loewen's "Lies My Teacher Told Me" and Cornel West & bell hooks "Breaking Bread" this is the new book that the academy will be talking about. Ironically it is a text book that never quite feels like one. With a philosopher's approach to unpacking complex material, yet through the lens of an ex-musician, Dr. Keith tells a profoundly lyrical story that feels like he himself authored the manual for making dysfunctional men, just so that he could tell us how to make repairs. He perhaps is never better in his unabashed and very personal analysis of men and their masculine representation in various forms of media. Dr. Keith invites us to travel with him as he systematically dismantles the rhyme and reason behind men's actions, both consciously and subconsciously. He paints a poignant picture of the problems visited upon men living and evolving in a patriarchal society, the crisis that accompany being boys, managing masculinity (in sports, as a father, within an organization, and even during the aging process) along the way to becoming men, and the difficulty in avoiding the inescapable violence, pornography, and misogyny inherent within too many romantic relationships. If you are interested in acquiring the tools to create conversations that lead to deeper understanding, personal epiphanies, and yes, revelations for men to self reflect and own the fact that we can actually be better, and more importantly, do better, then there is no better place to start your exploration than with Dr. Keith's intersectional approach. As a social justice educator for many years in as many educational environments I honestly know no better intellectual armament to wage war against the menace of masculinity than this ground breaking text. Open it, read it, and then see if you can avoid wanting to tell others about it. I seriously doubt you can or would want to. Dr. J.W. Wiley Chief Diversity Officer - SUNY Plattsburgh Lecturer, Philosophy & Interdisciplinary Studies Author - The NIGGER In You: Challenging Dysfunctional Language, Engaging Leadership Momentsshow more

About Thomas Keith

Thomas Keith received his Ph.D. in philosophy from Claremont Graduate University, Claremont, California, specializing in American philosophy with an emphasis on issues of race, gender, and class. He has published numerous articles on the intersection of gender, media, and popular culture, appeared on TV and radio programs, and produced two best-selling films for Media Education Foundation: Generation M: Misogyny in Media and Culture (2008), and The Bro Code: How Contemporary Culture Creates Sexist Men (2011). In 2015, Keith released his third film for MEF entitled The Empathy Gap: Masculinity and the Courage to Change, and continues to speak to audiences around the country on issues of masculinity, gender violence, media, and popular culture.show more

Table of contents

Chapter 1: Patriarchy, Male Privilege, and the Consequences of Living in a Patriarchal Society Chapter 2: Men and the Nature - Nurture Debate Chapter 3: Men's Movements and Organizations Chapter 4: The Boy Crisis Chapter 5: Fatherhood Chapter 6: Men and Media I: The Construction of 'Normal' Chapter 7: Men and Media II: Advertising, Heteronormativity, and the Construction of Male Insecurity Chapter 8: Music and Masculinity Chapter 9: Boys, Men, and Sports Chapter 10: Men, Anger, Violence, and Crime Chapter 11: Men, Sex, and Pornography Chapter 12: Men, Health, and Aging Postscript: The Future of Masculinityshow more

Rating details

1 ratings
4 out of 5 stars
5 0% (0)
4 100% (1)
3 0% (0)
2 0% (0)
1 0% (0)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X