Mary Barton

Mary Barton

3.7 (13,226 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author)  , Edited by 

List price: US$8.94

Currently unavailable

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks

Description

'It's the masters as has wrought this woe; it's the masters as should pay for it.' Set in Manchester in the 1840s - a period of industrial unrest and extreme deprivation - Mary Barton depicts the effects of economic and physical hardship upon the city's working-class community. Paralleling the novel's treatment of the relationship between masters and men, the suffering of the poor, and the workmen's angry response, is the story of Mary herself: a factory-worker's daughter who attracts the attentions of the mill-owner's son, she becomes caught up in the violence of class conflict when a brutal murder forces her to confront her true feelings and allegiances. Mary Barton was praised by contemporary critics for its vivid realism, its convincing characters and its deep sympathy with the poor, and it still has the power to engage and move readers today. This edition reproduces the last edition of the novel supervised by Elizabeth Gaskell and includes her husband's two lectures on the Lancashire dialect.show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 480 pages
  • 127 x 193.04 x 25.4mm | 1,292.73g
  • Oxford University Press
  • Oxford, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 0192805622
  • 9780192805621
  • 528,998

About Elizabeth Cleghorn Gaskell

Shirley Foster is former Reader in English and American Literature at the University of Sheffield.show more

Review quote

This is Elizabeth Gaskell at her best, and Shirley Foster's edition is both sagacious and formally accurate. The appendices are invaluable and the explanatory notes are relevant without being obtrusive. A must for readers of Mary Barton. Dr. Antonio Ballesteros-Gonzalez, Universidad de Castilla-La Manchashow more

Rating details

13,226 ratings
3.7 out of 5 stars
5 24% (3,195)
4 36% (4,802)
3 28% (3,751)
2 8% (1,086)
1 3% (392)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X