The Mark Of The Dragonfly

The Mark Of The Dragonfly

4.07 (5,996 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

List price: US$16.99

Currently unavailable

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks

Description

For fans of Frozen, The City of Ember, and The School of Good and Evil, the New York Times bestseller The Mark of the Dragonfly is a fast-paced adventure story about a mysterious girl and a fearless boy, set in a magical world that is both exciting and dangerous.
Piper has never seen the Mark of the Dragonfly until she finds the girl amid the wreckage of a caravan in the Meteor Fields.
The girl doesn't remember a thing about her life, but the intricate tattoo on her arm is proof that she's from the Dragonfly Territories and that she's protected by the king. Which means a reward for Piper if she can get the girl home.
The one sure way to the Territories is the 401, a great old beauty of a train. But a ticket costs more coin than Piper could make in a year. And stowing away is a difficult prospect--everyone knows that getting past the peculiar green-eyed boy who stands guard is nearly impossible.
Life for Piper just turned dangerous. A little bit magical. And very exciting, if she can manage to survive the journey. Praise for The Mark of the Dragonfly ★ "This magnetic middle-grade debut...[is] a page-turner that defies easy categorization and ought to have broad appeal."--Publishers Weekly, Starred ★ "Heart, brains, and courage find a home in a steampunk fantasy worthy of a nod from Baum."-- Kirkus Reviews, Starred ★ "A fantastic and original tale of adventure and magic...Piper is a heroine to fall in love with: smart, brave, kind, and mechanically inclined to boot."--School Library Journal, Starred "A complex and impeccably developed plot--there is plenty to recommend in this novel."--The Bulletin "Appealing characters and lots of action make it a good choice for young adventure readers."--Booklist
show more

Product details

  • 12-17
  • Hardback | 400 pages
  • 157 x 216 x 32mm | 534g
  • Delacorte Press Books for Young Readers
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • 0385376154
  • 9780385376150
  • 511,367

Review quote

Praise for The Mark of the Dragonfly A New York Times Bestseller ★ "This magnetic middle-grade debut...[is] a page-turner that defies easy categorization and ought to have broad appeal."--Publishers Weekly, Starred Review ★ "Heart, brains, and courage find a home in a steampunk fantasy worthy of a nod from Baum."--Kirkus Reviews, Starred Review ★ "A fantastic and original tale of adventure and magic...Piper is a heroine to fall in love with: smart, brave, kind, and mechanically inclined to boot."--SLJ, Starred Review "A complex and impeccably developed plot--there is plenty to recommend in this novel."--The Bulletin "Appealing characters and lots of action make it a good choice for young adventure readers."--Booklist

Praise for The Secrets of Solace ★ "Highly recommended for those who have finished with Harry and are too young for Katniss."--SLJ, Starred Review "An engaging world rich in detail, mayhem, and adventure . . . All aboard for fantasy lovers with a dual penchant for girl power and keeping up with the Indiana Joneses." --Kirkus Reviews "With imaginative details . . . readers will be rewarded by exciting action scenes and a deeper knowledge of Solace."--Booklist "The book nicely balances the firm structure of the archivists' orderly lives with the wild abandon of the protagonist."--The Bulletin

Praise for The Quest to the Uncharted Lands ★ "The author's endearing STEAM-loving heroine and magical hero hit all the right buttons for middle grade readers....Funny and heartbreaking...a must-have choice for all middle grade shelves." --SLJ, Starred

"A full-throttle fanfare for those with a predilection for alchemy, adventure, and a little anarchy."--Kirkus Reviews

Praise for The Door to the Lost

★ "Exquisite worldbuilding will please steadfast fans of Johnson's...and apropos themes of refugees and found families are addressed in a way that retains fantasy flavor while realistically presenting the brutality of ignorance and beauty of humanity. Your new favorite fantasy."--Kirkus Reviews, Starred Review "Johnson's immersive world building is vivid...and the fast-paced action, compelling characters, and one cute magical fox will keep fantasy-loving kids hooked."--Booklist

"With heartfelt explorations of the meanings of friendship and family...fans of portal fantasies, steampunk, and action-driven books will find this an entertaining read and will be left wanting more."--School Library Journal
show more

About Jaleigh Johnson

Jaleigh Johnson is a New York Times bestselling author as well as lifelong reader, gamer, and moviegoer. She loves nothing better than to escape into fictional worlds and take part in fantastic adventures. Her novels for young readers include The Mark of the Dragonfly and The Secrets of Solace.
She lives and writes in the wilds of the Midwest, but you can visit her online at jaleighjohnson.com or on Twitter @JaleighJohnson.
show more

Rating details

5,996 ratings
4.07 out of 5 stars
5 39% (2,315)
4 37% (2,218)
3 19% (1,120)
2 4% (249)
1 2% (94)

Our customer reviews

I don't usually read Middle Grade books, in fact I have only read a few of them, but The Mark of the Dragonfly sounded really interesting, so I decided to read it, or more so, read something that I don't normally read. Now, I'm glad I did, because this book is quite good, and I was surprised to see that MG is not that bad, even though there is no romance in it. Maybe it was even refreshing not having romance as a focus, and let alone worrying if there is going to be an insta-romance or not. The Mark of the Dragonfly is a book full of adventure, with a dash of steampunk! It even sounds great, right? Piper is an orphan. To survive she scrappers the fields after meteor showers and fixes machines. In one meteor shower her friend goes out before he is allowed to, and Piper goes out to find him. Since the shower didn't stop yet, Micah gets hit in the head and Piper is determined to help him, but she also notices a little girl Anna and she helps her too. After she makes sure Anna is fine, she notices a tattoo of a dragonfly, which means that Anna is from Dragonfly Territories and that she's under King's protection. If she brings her safely back to the King, Piper could be awarded with a big prize, but the journey there is dangerous, and the safest way is with a train 401. Right from the start you get the feel of the world Johnson created. The world is set up nicely, and I really enjoyed the steampunk aspect of the book. For a 400 pages book, The Mark of the Dragonfly surprisingly kept its fast pace until the end. Jaleigh Johnson surely does know how to keep the reader interested.Also the characters became very dear to me. I loved how courageous Piper was, Anna was really hilarious at times and Gee is just the cutest boy ever! I will definitely be keeping my eyes open for the sequel, since I like The Mark of the Dragonfly so much!show more
by Anatea
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X