Marion Lane and the Midnight Murder
10%
off

Marion Lane and the Midnight Murder : An Inquirers Mystery

3.75 (154 ratings by Goodreads)
  • Hardback
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available soon, pre-order now.
When will my order arrive?

Description

'The most fun I've had with a book this year. Every page is a delight' Stuart Turton, author of The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle

They were a band of mysterious private detectives who lived beneath the streets of London in a labyrinth of twisted tunnels and ancient hallways, the entrance to which no one had ever found...

London, 1958:

Elaborately disguised and hidden deep beneath the city's streets lies the world of Miss Brickett's, a secret detective agency. From traversing deceptive escape rooms full of baited traps and hidden dangers, to engineering almost magical mechanical gadgets, apprentice detectives at Miss Brickett's undergo rigorous training to equip them with the skills and knowledge they will need to solve the mysteries that confound London's police force.

But nothing can prepare 23-year-old apprentice Marion Lane for what happens after the arrest of her friend and mentor, Frank, on suspicion of murder: he tasks Marion with clearing his name and saving his life. Her investigation will place Marion and her friends in great peril as they venture into the forbidden maze of uncharted tunnels that surround Miss Brickett's. Being discovered out of bounds means immediate dismissal, but that is the least of Marion's problems when she discovered that the tunnels contain more than just secrets...

Marion Lane and the Midnight Murder is the first installation in a fantastical historical mystery series for fans of Stuart Turton's The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle and Natasha Pulley's The Watchmaker of Filigree Street.
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 336 pages
  • 156 x 240mm
  • Trapeze
  • London, United Kingdom
  • 1409196631
  • 9781409196631
  • 59,575

Review quote

A tantalizing, steampunk-flavored mystery... Delicious fun! * Helene Wecker, author of The Golem and the Jinni * Crackles with invention and surprise-the wondrous gadgetry, the moody settings, the endearing heroine and the struggles she's endured-and Willberg weaves it all together around a perfectly puzzling locked-room whodunnit * Matthew Sullivan, author of Midnight at the Bright Ideas Bookstore * The most fun I've had with a book this year. Every page is a delight, the worldbuilding is wonderful, and the mystery got its hooks into me from the first chapter * Stuart Turton, author of The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle *
show more

About T.A. Willberg

T.A. Willberg was born in Johannesburg, South Africa. Her mother, after whom her protagonist is named, is a trained nurse who worked at the Institute of Race Relations during the years of apartheid. Her father is German and a mechanical engineer with a wildly inventive imagination, and certainly the influence behind many of the gadgets in the novel. She now lives in Malta with her partner.
show more

Rating details

154 ratings
3.75 out of 5 stars
5 25% (38)
4 38% (58)
3 27% (42)
2 8% (13)
1 2% (3)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X