The Marching Dead

The Marching Dead

3.51 (108 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

List price: US$7.99

Currently unavailable

We can notify you when this item is back in stock

Add to wishlist

Description

The sequel to The Corpse-Rat King. Find the dead a King, save himself, win the love of his life, live happily ever after. No wonder Marius dos Helles is bored. But now Keth, his one love, is missing. Gerd has re-entered his life, and something has stopped the dead from, well, dying. It's up to Marius, Gerd, and Gerd's not-dead-enough Granny to journey across the continent and put the dead back in the afterlife where they belong. But someone has the dead riled up and spoiling for a fight, and now the dead are marching.

File Under: Fantasy [ Dead Not Buried - Relatively Insane - Marching Orders - No Rest ]
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 416 pages
  • 109.47 x 187.96 x 28.7mm | 199.58g
  • Angry Robot
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 0857662902
  • 9780857662903
  • 540,002

Review quote

"Battersby absolutely nails the narrative style, balancing humour and horror, fantasy and felony. It's another quick-moving, well-written story that amuses, excites, and concludes with some rather deep, and remarkably heavy musings on the subjects of life, death, and the afterlife - or the lack thereof."
- Bob Milne, Beauty in Ruins

"With this sequel, Battersby kicked up everything I loved about the first novel by a notch or two - world-building, storytelling, hilarity, and most of all, characters who just made me punch the air over and over again, usually while laughing."
- Kate Of Mind Praise for The Corpse-Rat King

"A stunning debut novel, well-crafted and grotesquely inventive. With its madcap story, unforgettable characters and fine balance between humour and pathos, The Corpse-Rat King ticks all the boxes. Fans of Joe Abercrombie will love this."
- Juliet Marillier, award-winning author of the Sevenwaters series and Bridei's Chronicles

"The Corpse-Rat King is rugged, muscular fantasy, sure to please those who like their adventures rough around the edges, with wit and style to burn."
- Karen Miller, author of The Innocent Mage and the Godspeaker trilogy

"One of the best books of 2012, nailed on. Brilliant."
- Steven Savile, author of London Macabre, Black Chalice and many more.

"Wry, absurdist, and pleasantly cynical, Battersby's debut will appeal to fans of Scott Lynch's The Lies of Locke Lamoraand Terry Pratchett's Going Postal."
- Publishers Weekly, Starred Review

"This is a tale of con-men, their victims and the undead, and will appeal to fans of Scott Lynch or Mark Lawrence, or anyone who likes a not-so-loveable rogue." 8 out of 10.
- Ed Fortune, Starburst Magazine

"If you had a wish list every time you read a book - great characters, story, pace, writing - that you ticked off every time you came across one of them, you'd soon wear out your pencil while reading The Corpse-Rat King."
- Katy O'Dowd for The British Fantasy Society

"The last three-fourths of this book are beyond spectacular. Lee Battersby definitely saved the best for last in this unforgettable tale of death, dead things, and more awesome dead stuff."
- Liam at The Troubled Scribe

"This was a novel that I thoroughly enjoyed and will gleefully recommend, without reservation."
- Bob Milne, Beauty in Ruins

"The Corpse Rat King is fast, furious, and Fun. In a genre that can so often take itself far too seriously it's a hugely refreshing read. Battersby is a wonderfully fresh new voice."
- Zoe Oliver, Fantasy Bytes

"The Corpse-Rat King is the very definition of a great story; the perfect concoction of old world fantasy, intrigue, adventure and full-bodied characters that sweep you deeper into the story with each turn of the page."
- Greg Chapman, Thirteen O'Clock

"This book was outstanding! The author, Lee Battersby should be proud to have written such an amazing masterpiece of imagination, sarcasm and fantastic inventiveness"
- Melinda le Baron, Melinda's Bibliophile Blog

"The Corpse-Rat King is different enough to appeal to most readers while the engaging, intelligent and wildly different narrative should keep any reader glued to the pages, a brilliant d but from a promising talent."
- Ant, SFBook.com

"I like my humor like I like my chocolate... dark. The Corpse-Rat King gave me plenty of those laugh out loud moments. I could imagine the main character played by Bruce Campbell. The story marched along at a fast pace with plenty of gags."
- Barry Huddlestone, Gnostalgia

"If you're looking for an interesting new voice in fantasy and an entertaining read, look no further than Lee Battersby and his debut The Corpse-Rat King."
- Mieneke van der Salm, A Fantastical Librarian

"A very unusual and inventive examination of the age old fantasy and mythology staple, the Realm of the Dead"
- Gav at Mass Movement Magazine

"There are a lot of things to like in this debut novel from Battersby. If you are into weirdness and / or reprehensible knaves, I think you will get a real kick out of this story."
- Ryan Lawler, Fantasy Book Review

"The Corpse-Rat King is an absurd and fantastical tale of a man about to learn the error of his ways the hard way."
- Hannah Mariksa, My Book Journey

"Bawdy, inventive, and often darkly funny, The Corpse-Rat King is an entertaining and surprising fantasy adventure."
- Scott Pearson, The Pacific Northwest Writers Association's Author Magazine

"A word about a part of this book that I really appreciate in books, it's its humour: impertinent, pungent and grotesque found throughout the story. Whether in dialogue or in situations, there is always something to smile or laugh. This is not just a book of undead (or living dead for Marius) but a true adventure book, funny and epic. I give it 4/ 5."
- Vanessa S Bookshelves
show more

About Lee Battersby

Lee Battersby was born in Nottingham, UK, in 1970 and moved to Australia at the age of 5, bringing his parents with him for protection. A multiple award-winning author of over 70 short stories in Australia, the US and Europe, He writes across a wide range of forms, including poetry, reviews, stand-up comedy and film, and has taught writing for both Clarion South and the Australian Writers Marketplace. He lives in Mandurah, Western Australia, with his wife, writer Lyn Battersby, and a brood of increasingly weird children. His long-running weblog, the Battersblog, is archived by Australia's National Library as an electronic source of log-term research value, which amuses him greatly. The author lives in Mandurah, Australia.
show more

Rating details

108 ratings
3.51 out of 5 stars
5 13% (14)
4 38% (41)
3 40% (43)
2 6% (7)
1 3% (3)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X