The Mansion

The Mansion

3.34 (1,330 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Expected delivery to the United States in 15-18 business days.


Not ordering to the United States? Click here.

Description

In this "classic haunted house tale meets Black Mirror" (Book Riot), a family moves into a home equipped with the world's most intelligent, cutting-edge, and intuitive computer ever--but a buried secret leads to terrifying and catastrophic consequences.

After two years of living on cheap beer and little else in a bitterly cold tiny cabin outside an abandoned, crumbling mansion, young programmers Shawn Eagle and Billy Stafford have created something that could make them rich: a revolutionary computer they name Eagle Logic.

But the hard work and escalating tension have not been kind to their once solid friendship--Shawn's girlfriend Emily has left him for Billy, and a third partner has disappeared under mysterious circumstances. While Billy walks away with Emily, Shawn takes Eagle Logic, which he uses to build a multi-billion-dollar company that eventually outshines Apple, Google, and Microsoft combined.

Years later, Billy is a failure, beset by poverty and addiction, and Shawn is the most famous man in the world. Unable to let the past be forgotten, Shawn decides to resurrect his and Billy's biggest failure: a next-generation computer program named Nellie that can control a house's every function. He decides to set it up in the abandoned mansion they worked near all those years ago. But something about Nellie isn't right--and the reconstruction of the mansion is plagued by accidental deaths. Shawn is forced to bring Billy back, despite their longstanding mutual hatred, to discover and destroy the evil that lurks in the source code.

From the internationally bestselling author of the "apocalyptic extravaganza" (Publishers Weekly) The Hatching series, this white-knuckled thriller is perfect for fans of Stephen King and Iain Reid.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 432 pages
  • 135 x 208 x 28mm | 318g
  • English
  • Reprint
  • 1501165518
  • 9781501165511
  • 1,703,582

Review quote

"A great story with twists and turns you don't see coming and a shocking ending you won't see coming." -- "Red Carpet Crash"
show more

About Ezekiel Boone

Ezekiel Boone lives in upstate New York with his wife and children. He is the internationally bestselling author of The Hatching, Skitter, and Zero Day
show more

Rating details

1,330 ratings
3.34 out of 5 stars
5 13% (168)
4 31% (416)
3 38% (504)
2 14% (184)
1 4% (58)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X