Manchester Moll
36%
off

Manchester Moll

4.38 (47 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

Moll thought she could keep her family safe . . . Eighteen-year-old Moll Chambers works her fingers to the bone doing all she can to support her family. With an ailing father and a wayward mother, Moll is the only one who can look after her siblings, Bo and Sissy. But Manchester is an increasingly dangerous place to live, overrun with a ferocious rivalry between gangs of so-called `scuttlers': young men and women bent on a life of violence and crime. And they have her brother in their sights. Soon even Moll can't protect Bo from the lure of the criminal underworld. Then the scuttlers looked her way. When she herself falls for the leader of a rival gang, Moll's choices place her and Bo firmly on opposite sides of the city's turf war. With her loyalties now torn in two, and tragedy lurking round every corner, will Moll be able to rise above the conflict and protect those she loves the most? Or will stepping out with a scuttler spell ruin for them all . . . ? MANCHESTER MOLL is an absorbing saga that will tug at your heartstrings. Fans of Dilly Court, Rosie Goodwin and Maggie Hope will love Emma Hornby.show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 384 pages
  • 127 x 198 x 24mm | 262g
  • Transworld Publishers Ltd
  • Corgi Books
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 055217324X
  • 9780552173247
  • 117,045

About Emma Hornby

Thirty-two-year-old mother of three Emma Hornby lives on a tight-knit working-class estate in Bolton and has read sagas all her life. Before pursuing a career as a novelist, she had a variety of jobs, from care assistant for the elderly, to working in a Blackpool rock factory. She was inspired to write after researching her family history; like the characters in her books, many generations of her family eked out life amidst the squalor and poverty of Lancashire's slums.show more

Review quote

"A woman's lot was shocking in the 1850s as this Cooksonlike saga brilliantly describes... Have some tissues handy!" * Peterborough Telegraph on A Shilling for a Wife *show more

Review Text

"A woman’s lot was shocking in the 1850s as this Cooksonlike saga brilliantly describes... Have some tissues handy!"show more

Rating details

47 ratings
4.38 out of 5 stars
5 57% (27)
4 26% (12)
3 15% (7)
2 2% (1)
1 0% (0)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X