The Man Who Had All the Luck

The Man Who Had All the Luck

3.73 (179 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author)  , Introduction by 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?


The forgotten classic that launched the career of one of America's greatest playwrightsIt took more than fifty years for The Man Who Had All the Luck to be appreciated for what it truly is: the first stirrings of a genius that would go on to blossom in such masterpieces as Death of a Salesman and The Crucible. Infused with the moral malaise of the Depression era, the parable-like drama centers on David Beeves, a man whose every obstacle to personal and professional success seems to crumble before him with ease. But his good fortune merely serves to reveal the tragedies of those around him in greater relief, offering what David believes to be evidence of a capricious god or, worse, a godless, arbitrary universe. David s journey toward fulfillment becomes a nightmare of existential doubts, a desperate grasp for reason in a cosmos seemingly devoid of any, and a struggle that will take him to the brink of madness. This Penguin Classics edition includes an introduction by Christopher Bigsby.
For more than seventy years, Penguin has been the leading publisher of classic literature in the English-speaking world. With more than 1,700titles, Penguin Classics represents a global bookshelf of the best works throughout history and across genres and disciplines. Readers trust theseries to provide authoritative texts enhanced by introductions and notes by distinguished scholars and contemporary authors, as well as up-to-datetranslations by award-winning translators.

show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 128 pages
  • 119.4 x 193 x 12.7mm | 90.72g
  • Penguin Publishing Group
  • Penguin Books
  • New York, NY, United States
  • English
  • New
  • 0142437867
  • 9780142437865
  • 937,928

Review quote

"The sound of a new and singular dramatic voice swelling with ambition...It's downright bizarre that until now the play has been almost entirely forgotten."
show more

About Arthur Miller

Arthur Miller (1915-2005) was born in New York City and studied at the University of Michigan. His plays includeAll My Sons(1947), Death of a Salesman(1949), The Crucible(1953), A View from the BridgeandA Memory of Two Mondays(1955), After the Fall(1963), Incident at Vichy(1964), The Price(1968), The Creation of the World and Other Business(1972) andThe American Clock(1980). He also wrote two novels, Focus(1945), andThe Misfits, which was filmed in 1960, and the text forIn Russia(1969), Chinese Encounters(1979), andIn the Country(1977), three books of photographs by his wife, Inge Morath. His later work included a memoir, Timebends(1987); the playsThe Ride Down Mt. Morgan(1991), The Last Yankee(1993), Broken Glass(1994), andMr. Peter's Connections(1999);Echoes Down the Corridor: Collected Essays, 1944 2000; andOn Politics and the Art of Acting(2001). He twice won the New York Drama Critics Circle Award, and in 1949 he was awarded the Pulitzer Prize. Miller was the recipient of the National Book Foundation s 2001 Medal for Distinguished Contribution to American Letters, the Prince of Asturias Award for Letters in 2002, and the Jerusalem Prize in 2003.
Christopher Bigsbyis a professor of American Studies at the University of East Anglia. He edited the Penguin Classics editions of Miller'sThe Crucible, Death of a Salesman, andAll My Sons."
show more

Rating details

179 ratings
3.73 out of 5 stars
5 20% (36)
4 40% (71)
3 35% (62)
2 5% (9)
1 1% (1)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X