The Man Who Didn't Call
23%
off

The Man Who Didn't Call

3.74 (33,135 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

'I absolutely loved this book and didn't want it to end' Liane Moriarty, author of Big Little Lies and Nine Perfect Strangers

The Man Who Didn't Call by Rosie Walsh is the perfect novel for anyone who's ever waited for a phone call that didn't come.

Imagine you meet a man, spend seven glorious days together, and fall in love. And it's mutual: you've never been so certain of anything.

So when he leaves for a long-booked holiday and promises to call from the airport, you have no cause to doubt him.

But he doesn't call.

Your friends tell you to forget him, but you know they're wrong: something must have happened; there must be a reason for his silence.

What do you do when you finally discover you're right? That there is a reason - and that reason is the one thing you didn't share with each other?

The truth.

For fans of Jojo Moyes and Liane Moriarty, this is the love story of the year . . .
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 352 pages
  • 130 x 196 x 25mm | 252g
  • Pan Books
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • Main Market Ed.
  • 1509828303
  • 9781509828302
  • 4,829

Review Text

I absolutely loved this book and didn't want it to end Liane Moriarty, author of Big Little Lies and Nine Perfect Strangers
show more

Review quote

If you didn't fall in love with this book first time round, now's your chance . . . * Sunday Post * Walsh has created a deeply moving romance with an intriguing mystery and a touching portrait of grief at its heart . . . A romantic, sad, and ultimately hopeful book that's perfect for fans of Jojo Moyes * Kirkus * A completely gripping story that makes your heart ache and eyebrows raise at the twists and turns Rosie Walsh expertly throws at you * Bookends and Blurbs * A brilliant debut novel that explores the power of fate . . . Walsh has a gift for blending complex characters, intricate backstories, and neck-snapping plot twists * Booklist * Some books are entertaining, some books are affecting and some, like this one, creep under your skin, travel through your veins and settle in your heart . . . I could write about the mystery at the heart of this book and the many brilliant twists that I didn't see coming (VERY rare) but what will stay with me, and the reason I cried when I finished this book, is the absolutely stunning way Rosie Walsh writes about love, forgiveness and redemption. There is so much truth and heart in this book . . . I absolutely loved it -- Cally Taylor, author of The Fear A beautifully constructed story of forgiveness and redemption and, most of all, love * Daily Express * Big-hearted, smart, redemptive -- Emylia Hall, author of The Book of Summers An intricate puzzle of a novel . . . Equal parts heartbreaking and heartwarming; I was engrossed until the final poignant moment -- Jill Santopolo, author of The Light We Lost If you're looking for a romance with all the page-turning twists of a psychological thriller then add this to your reading list * Sunday Express, S Magazine * Am breathless from this addictive rollercoaster of a book! Not only utterly compelling but deeply empathetic and engaging -- Penny Parkes, author of The Larkford Series Incredibly crafted, huge depth, amazing characters and beautiful prose. I loved it -- Cesca Major, author of The Last Night and The Silent Hours Beautiful, honest, tender, captivating, utterly unforgettable * Heat magazine * A heart-stoppingly tender portrayal of love, loss and all that comes in between -- Isabelle Broom, author of My Map of You and One Thousand Stars and You Beautifully written and emotionally intelligent -- Kate Riordan, author of The Stranger This brilliantly written romance is the perfect summer read * The Sun * Tender and immensely moving, its tightly-woven plot keeps you guessing right until its breathless end . . . Depicts the thrill of romantic love so beautifully that it made my spine tingle -- Catherine Isaac, author of You Me Everything Utterly brilliant -- Laura Kemp, author of The Year of Surprising Acts of Kindness This captivating high-concept love story is chock-full of secrets, loss and grief, with plenty of twists and tissue-sodden emotional moments -- Fanny Blake * Woman & Home * I couldn't stop reading once I started -- it just grabbed me and wouldn't let go -- Rachael Lucas, author of Finding Hope at Hillside Farm I finished The Man Who Didn't Call two days ago, now, and am still unable to start another book . . . I don't think I have ever read such a perfect novel -- Gillian McAllister, author of No Further Questions One of the best books we've read all year * The Sun, Fabulous magazine * My heart ached, then raced, then skipped a beat, then did it all over again until I finally put this book down. What a ride! . . . I loved it -- Lucy Dillon, author of Where the Light Gets In and One Small Act of Kindness A gorgeously romantic, beautifully structured, page-turning mystery. A total joy -- Katy Regan, author of Little Big Man and The Story of You Fans of Me Before You or One Day will love The Man Who Didn't Call, which also has a tenderness, humour and an almighty plot twist that defies all comparisons * Red * Beautifully written with a clever twist, and an ending that made me cry -- Sarah Vaughan I completely adored it. Rosie Walsh has created such strong characters, and so much warmth . . . Just beautiful -- Jane Green, author of Tempting Fate and The Accidental Husband One of this summer's best reads * Grazia * A beautiful, incredibly affecting, edge-of-your-seat love story which deals with grief, mental illness, family and guilt in touching and sensitive ways . . . Hugely compassionate -- Julie Cohen, author of Together Brilliantly relatable, modern and smart * Sunday Mirror * Never have I been more tempted to skip to the end of a book because I was SO desperate to find out why he hadn't called . . . This book is the very definition of unputdownable -- Jill Mansell, author of The One You Really Want and Maybe This Time A real page-turner of a read with an "OMG" twist * Closer * Amazing, beautiful and wonderful. I cannot express enough how much I enjoyed this gorgeous book -- Milly Johnson, author of The Teashop on the Corner and The Perfectly Imperfect Woman This story will break your heart and put it back together * Prima * A perfect read if you loved Me Before You or One Day -- Sarra Manning, author of You Don't Have to Say You Love Me A wonderful love story - achingly sexy, modern, heart-breaking - with the most fantastic twist -- Eve Chase, author of The Vanishing of Audrey Wilde If you only read one book this year - make it this one * Heat * A gorgeous love story with a dark secret at its heart. Beautifully written, this is full of tenderness, humour and warmth - I adored it -- Lucy Diamond, author of Something to Tell You Stayed up till 2am to finish it last night! Loved it -- Sophie Hannah, author of Did You See Melody? Wise, warm and beautifully written, with a fantastic twist * Daily Mail * A delight. Moving and relatable, with characters you'll fall in love with. One for your wish list -- Clare Mackintosh, author of I Let You Go A gripping romance about a whirlwind love affair gone wrong, with a blinder of a twist * Good Housekeeping * I absolutely loved this book and didn't want it to end -- Liane Moriarty, author of Big Little Lies and Nine Perfect Strangers
show more

About Rosie Walsh

Rosie Walsh has lived and travelled all over the world, working as a documentary producer and writer. The Man Who Didn't Call is her first book under her own name. She lives in Bristol with her partner and son.
show more

Rating details

33,135 ratings
3.74 out of 5 stars
5 23% (7,777)
4 40% (13,240)
3 27% (8,892)
2 7% (2,474)
1 2% (752)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X