Malice

Malice : Book One of the Malice Duology

4.08 (3,946 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Expected delivery to the United States in 6-11 business days.


Not ordering to the United States? Click here.

Description

__________________________________________________________
The princess isn't supposed to fall for an evil sorceress. But in this darkly magical retelling of Sleeping Beauty, true love is more complicated than a simple fairy tale. Perfect for fans of Naomi Novik and Holly Black.

'Malice is the dark and wicked heart of a fairytale carved into a book. This story is beautiful, vicious magic.' Tasha Suri, author of Empire of Sand

'A truly original and clever retelling of a classic that had me racing to the end - you'll never look at Sleeping Beauty the same again.' S.A. Chakraborty, author of City of Brass
__________________________________________________________

Once upon a time, there was a wicked fairy who cursed a line of princesses to die, and could only be broken by true love's kiss. You've heard this before, haven't you? The handsome prince. The happily-ever-after.

Utter nonsense.

Let me tell you, no one actually cares about what happens to our princesses. I thought I didn't care, either. Until I met her.

Princess Aurora. The last heir to the throne. The future queen her realm needs. One who isn't bothered that I am the Dark Grace, abhorred and feared for the mysterious dark magic that runs in my veins. Aurora says I should be proud of my gifts. That she . . . cares for me. Even though it was a power like mine that was responsible for her curse.

But with less than a year until that curse will kill her, any future I might see with Aurora is swiftly disintegrating - and she can't stand to kiss yet another insipid prince. I want to help her. If my power began her curse, perhaps it's what can lift it. Perhaps, together, we could forge a new world.

Nonsense again. Because we all know how this story ends, don't we? Aurora is the beautiful princess. And I-

I am the villain.
__________________________________________________________
'The story grows deliciously darker at every turn . . . Fairy tale lovers of all ages will be thrilled' Publishers Weekly, starred review
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 480 pages
  • 162 x 240 x 42mm | 723g
  • Del Rey
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 1529101271
  • 9781529101270
  • 57,978

Review Text

A spellbinding debut ... for all the queer girls and women who've been told to keep their gifts hidden and for those yearning to defy gravity.
show more

Review quote

Malice is the dark and wicked heart of a fairytale carved into a book. This story is beautiful, vicious magic * Tasha Suri, author of Empire of Sand * A beautifully imaginative and feminist retelling of a fairytale so often swept into the dark. Walter's debut was engrossing from page one, with a vivid cast of characters, thrilling romance and a world so vivid it will wrap thorns around your dreams. * Roshani Chokshi, author of The Guilded Wolves * A truly original and clever retelling of a classic that had me racing to the end - you'll never look at Sleeping Beauty the same again. * S.A. Chakraborty, author of City of Brass * The story grows deliciously darker at every turn . . . Fairy tale lovers of all ages will be thrilled * Publishers Weekly, Starred Review * Heather Walter writes about magic-and with magic. Her retelling of Sleeping Beauty remains true to the beloved classic, yet every page is completely new and unexpected. * Richelle Mead, author of the Vampire Academy series * Enchanting - and enchanted . . . a book to savor * Louisa Morgan, author of The Secret History of Witches * Bewitching characters. Fascinating story. An up-all-night read. Why are you not reading this book RIGHT NOW? * Tamora Pierce * Absolutely dazzling! Full of love, power, and betrayal, Malice is as compelling as a spell, as captivating as an enchantment, and as fascinating and delicious as a fairy-tale curse. I loved it! * Sarah Beth Durst, award-winning author of the Queens Of Renthia series * A spellbinding debut ... for all the queer girls and women who've been told to keep their gifts hidden and for those yearning to defy gravity. * Oprah Magazine * Viciously satisfying. Malice takes Sleeping Beauty and turns everything on its head, cutting right to the core of this bejewelled world. Heather Walter has given us a villain to adore. * Chloe Gong, New York Times bestselling author of These Violent Delights *
show more

About Heather Walter

Heather Walter is a graduate of the University of Texas at Austin, a former English teacher, and now works as a librarian in Austin, Texas. As an LGBTQ+ author, Heather is passionate about telling and championing queer stories, and loves writing about what-ifs, flawed protagonists, and re-imagined history. Her favourite characters are usually villains. MALICE is her debut novel.
show more

Rating details

3,946 ratings
4.08 out of 5 stars
5 36% (1,416)
4 43% (1,679)
3 17% (656)
2 4% (159)
1 1% (36)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X